Customer Discussions > Kindle Book forum

What does 'Kindle version' mean

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-11 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 7, 2011 5:47:33 PM PST
V. Robson says:
When I download a book, it says 'Kindle version'. Does that mean it's different than a regular version of the book?

Posted on Feb 7, 2011 6:18:11 PM PST
The Artist says:
It means it's formatted to work on the Kindle.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 7, 2011 6:34:24 PM PST
It just means it's for the Kindle, instead of a paperback or hard cover book.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 7, 2011 6:46:44 PM PST
V. Robson says:
Thank you Blaiz. My husband and I got our Kindles for Christmas and wondered if it meant a shorter version, especially since the 'Kindle singles' came out.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 21, 2011 10:43:49 AM PDT
Thanks for asking this question, I was wondering the same thing. I'm new to all this, got my Kindle for my birthday. (today) took me forever to find these forums! Too bad there isn't a glossary, or is there?

Posted on Dec 19, 2012 4:28:47 PM PST
Does it mean a shorter version of the book itself or exactly the same as the book? Could it be viewed online without the kindle when you purchase the kindle version?

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 19, 2012 5:06:40 PM PST
cathyr says:
"Does it mean a shorter version of the book itself or exactly the same as the book?"

Typically, it's the same book. Simply formatted in Amazon's proprietary Kindle format.

"Could it be viewed online without the kindle when you purchase the kindle version?"

Yes, via a kindle app. For example, using the free kindle app, I can read a book purchased from Amazon, on my Mac laptop, my iPhone, and my kindle. I only need to purchase it once, and it is possible to have it open on all three at once.