Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Illustrations

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 5, 2009 1:27:42 AM PDT
C. D. says:
I am new to the Kindle family. I was just looking at a free book, The Tale of Peter Rabbit, and I was unable to access any illustrations. Is this because there are not included in the free book, or any they not included in any book, or am I suppose to do something in particular to see them?
Thanks for any help!

Posted on Sep 5, 2009 2:23:47 AM PDT
I'm sure it varies by book. I have books with illustrations in them.

Posted on Sep 6, 2009 11:53:27 AM PDT
Dante says:
I know how frustrating this is. One of the problems with Ebooks is that the Publishers are not including the illustrations that originally appeared in the paper books (DTB's). This will change in time as Publishers finally realise that DTB's are not going away and that Ebook readers do not deserve to be treated like second class citizens.
Hope that helps.

Posted on Sep 6, 2009 12:13:10 PM PDT
For me, Tale of Peter Rabbit has to look exactly like this

http://wiredforbooks.org/kids/beatrix/p3.htm

Not only are the color illustrations essential to the story but so is the page layout. So I read it on my laptop.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 6, 2009 1:20:53 PM PDT
C. D. says:
Exactly! Thus I am not even sure why even have Potter's books in Kindle, if they do not have the illustrations!

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 6, 2009 2:46:58 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Sep 6, 2009 2:53:54 PM PDT
lesley9 says:
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/ebooks.php?do=getall&order=asc&sort=ebook<r=P&page=10

Look at this link for an illustrated Tale of Peter
Rabbit

You want the .prc to view on the Kindle. Find it via Whispernet and download direct to Kindle. Or add to your PC drive and transfer it to your Kindle manually via USB cord.