Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Kindle Fire and Kindle $79 questions.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 54 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 10, 2011 8:27:12 PM PST
I have been given a gift of a Kindle Fire and I am still on the fence about keeping it. I do have a few questions though if anyone can answer me. I am completely new to Kindle, so please bear with me.

1. What happens if my Fire breaks down? Does this mean I lose all books I've downloaded? I know there is a cloud thing going on here, but I want to be sure that I can re-download onto a different device. It's unlikely I would buy another Fire.

2. What if I buy a $79 Kindle for my husband? Can he have access to any of my books in the cloud? What about his books that he would download? Could he store them in my cloud? Or would we have to use one Amazon account?

3. I think I read that a Prime membership is only good for one device. Again, what happens if my Kindle breaks? Would I have to buy another Prime?

I'm just trying to make sure that if my Kindle breaks, gets lost or stolen or whatever, that I won't have my entire library lost along with it and make sure that my husband and I can share books on separate Kindle machines.

If we can't share them, then there is no point in owning a Kindle. Ever. I can hand him my real book so I should be able to hand him my ebook.

Thanks much in advance!

Posted on Dec 10, 2011 8:50:26 PM PST
Your e-books belong to the account that purchased them. They'll always be in the archive of any device or app registered to the same account.

Posted on Dec 10, 2011 8:54:16 PM PST
Aha! That's good points for Amazon in me keeping the Kindle and buying another for my husband. :) Thank you Sugar Plum!

Posted on Dec 10, 2011 8:56:14 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 10, 2011 8:57:24 PM PST
Ok, in order: