Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Page Numbers vs. Locations = Decision to Buy Kindle or Not

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 981 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 6, 2010 12:05:32 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 7, 2010 12:29:31 PM PDT
T.E. Smith says:
Kindle's use of "locations" instead of actual page numbers is really bothering me.

I am currently buying Kindle eBooks to read on my computer to start off. And I discovered that there are no page numbers on Kindle books, just "locations". What the heck??? Why???

I am a huge tech fan and consumer. And I would like to purchase the Kindle device and tell everyone to buy one, but the lack of simple, fundamental page numbers in the books is going to be the deciding and breaking factor for me to buy one or not.

Dear Amazon and Jeff Bezos,

Please simplify things and give ebooks normal page numbers. With locations, we have to do math calculations to find a reference page or citations.

** This is not really user "intuitive" and takes away from the user experience of ease and enjoyment.

This is why Apple products have been so successful. Everything is simple, intuitive and easy to use, so that the user can focus on the content.

If you do not want to give books simple page numbers, then I will be buying a new Nook or iPad instead. I just want simplicity and ease of use.

I have been a big fan of Amazon and Jeff Bezos, but this feature of the Kindle has been a big disappointment. Please consider customers' input.

Thank-you!

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 6, 2010 12:15:33 PM PDT
Sylvie B. says:
The reason is since you can change the font size, the "page" number couldn't be the same. That's why they use locations instead.

Posted on Oct 6, 2010 12:17:58 PM PDT
Bixillarla says:
Which book would you base the numbers off the hardback or the paperback how about the mass paperback or the first print? What if the Ebook had no print book how would you determine page numbers?