Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Cannot open my Kindle for PC.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-21 of 21 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 23, 2012 12:23:41 PM PDT
Thelma Mason says:
I cannot access my Kindle for PC. When I click on the icon on my desktop, nothing happens. I have been using it daily for probably six months. I ran a virus scan on my PC, still won't allow me to open it. Does anyone have any suggestions?

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2012 12:25:39 PM PDT
Jazzy_Jeff says:
Download the new version and install it over the old.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2012 12:28:07 PM PDT
Dittie says:
I've seen other threads in the last few days that would indicate it's a problem with the update and lots of people are having the same problem. Before making any major changes, I'd contact customer service about it. Click the blue Help link at the top of this page and then click the yellow Contact Us button.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2012 12:34:55 PM PDT
Thelma Mason says:
Thanks so much.

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2012 12:35:54 PM PDT
Thelma Mason says:
Good to hear. I was getting really frustrated. I'll give that a try. Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2012 12:38:34 PM PDT
Dittie says:
You're welcome. I was looking for some of the other posts about this but it's actually easiest just to get troubleshooting help from customer service.

Posted on Jul 23, 2012 12:57:55 PM PDT
If Kindle for PC doesn't open, you need to download and install the latest version from http://www.amazon.com/kindleforpc

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 23, 2012 1:21:59 PM PDT
Thelma Mason says:
I uninstalled old version and reinstalled. I was able to keep all the books I had on the old version. Thanks for the help.

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 1, 2012 9:50:03 PM PDT
tjoles says:
Thank you!!!!

Posted on Aug 22, 2012 7:29:39 AM PDT
thank you, installing new version did the trick.