Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

dump-log.js

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 29 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 11, 2012 4:34:56 PM PST
NG says:
What is this message "do you want to open dump-log.js from Amazon?" We keep getting on amazon buying from the pc? Completely different pcs on completely different accounts are getting it.

Just got it buying a charger for my 8.9.

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 4:41:44 PM PST
SeaLevel274 says:
I don't know, but I have been seeing it today too. I am using Windows 8/IE 10.

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 5:10:13 PM PST
Same here; never saw it before today - have no idea what it is.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 11, 2012 5:17:37 PM PST
B. Marks says:
I don't have a real answer for you but as a retired programmer I'd say something was crashing, probably something involving Java, and it's offering to give you a dump, which is the state of RAM at the time the problem occurred. I'm not a Java programmer so the dump may be less than that in Java.

My guess at the cause is that there's a bug on Amazon's website that's causing some kind of problem in Java on IE.

Of course this is all guessing on my part. It might be early signs of a Martian invasion. :)

Anyway, if I'm right Amazon will probably fix it soon and the problem will go away.

I don't use IE so I haven't seen this.

Barry

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 6:58:31 PM PST
I'm getting it too. The message is "Do you want to open or save dump-log.js from Amazon.com?" As Barryem said, it is probably a failed JavaScript applet. Whatever it is, they need to fix it. Don't like seeing dump logs on a page where I do financial transactions!

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 7:09:05 PM PST
Hovaner says:
Same problem. It would be nice for Amazon to provide a prompt response.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 11, 2012 8:29:06 PM PST
NG says:
Barryem,

Pretty sure you are right. I am very uncomfortable with this because it involves spending money (not surfing.)