Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Card reader on Kindle Fire?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 10, 2011 8:04:40 PM PST
I'm a photographer and I want to know if the KF has a built-in media card reader so that I can view my photos on it. I want to be able to remove the card from the camera and insert it in the KF in order to show clients on scene. I'm pretty sure I can do that with an iPad 2, but the cost is directing me toward the Kindle Fire. Please help with answers. Thanks.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 10, 2011 8:06:36 PM PST
Does the product page make any reference to any card reader? If it's not in the product description, it's not on the Fire.

Posted on Nov 10, 2011 8:16:18 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 10, 2011 8:18:05 PM PST
PS56k says:
NO - Did it mention that ANYWHERE on the product page ?

it doesn't have a physical card reader, and if it did... how were you going to navigate to read the card - a File Manager - is there one ?

"pretty sure on the iPad2" - - it's an external connection kit -

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 11, 2011 3:24:13 AM PST
You take photographs but don't read. Of course, then I'd need an app for converting my raw files to JPEG so I could view them.

Posted on May 8, 2012 10:46:38 AM PDT
Jack says:
Hi there. I'm wondering if I can couple my Nikon D40X directly to my Kindle Fire for quick review of pictures taken. I'm thinking of using a USB mini B 5-pin male cable wired straight through. What do you think?

Thanks,

Jack

In reply to an earlier post on May 8, 2012 10:49:36 AM PDT
Jack, that won't work, the Fire cannot host any other device.
Your reply to Chew&DigestBooks's post:
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)

Posted on May 8, 2012 10:57:21 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on May 8, 2012 10:57:53 AM PDT
T. Cook says: