Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Can I replace Kindle battery?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 5, 2011 4:39:31 AM PDT
Bulrush says:
I have been using rechargable batteries since 1987 and know that they do not last forever. So, after I have my Kindle for several years, can I replace the batteries if they go bad?

Also, what kind of batteries does the most recent Kindle use? Some type of Lithium?

Thanks.

Posted on Aug 5, 2011 4:56:23 AM PDT
Yes the battery can be replaced. You have a choice. You can have Amazon do it for you for a fee of $59 (or at least that was the price at the release of the K2, it's possible it's lower now). You send in your Kindle and they'll send you back a refurbished Kindle with a fresh battery.

If you don't want to have to go through the hassle of setting up a different Kindle and all that you can replace the battery yourself. There's a company that has a website that sells new batteries for somewhere around $20-25 along with the little tool needed to remove the back from your Kindle. Evidently there are just two small screws that have to be removed in order to take out the old battery. Quite a few people have done it themselves and say it's easy to do.

For the specs on the battery I think it's listed on the Kindle specs page.

Posted on Aug 5, 2011 5:03:05 AM PDT
Jazzy_Jeff says:
I also recommend watching a video on youtube to see how it is done. See if you want to mess with it.

Posted on Aug 7, 2011 5:57:11 AM PDT
B. Gonzalez says:
This site offers the videos depending on your Kindle model:

http://www.newpower99.com/SearchResults.asp?Search=kindle&Search.x=0&Search.y=0

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 7, 2011 7:36:02 AM PDT
Denis Powell says: