Customer Discussions > Kindle forum

Can't Create Collections on my new Kindle


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 30 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 27, 2010 9:33:43 AM PDT
I received my new 3G/Wifi Kindle 3 today. I hooked it up to my computer through USB (I'm in Afghanistan, so no Wifi or 3G at the moment), transferred my books, then let the Kindle index/charge for several hours.

The kindle has finished indexing my books, but when I tried to create a collection, the option is grayed out. Does anyone know why?

I bought the Kindle through Amazon and my Manage my Kindle page shows the Kindle is linked to my account. However the Kindle itself doesn't show anything in the "registered user" section. Is this why I can't create collections? Am I out of luck until I get back to the States late next Spring?

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 9:39:06 AM PDT
Bixillarla says:
You have to connect to amazon with the WiFi or 3G once to activate all the features. You won't be able to use collections until you can connect once.

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 9:41:23 AM PDT
flipoid says:
I think, from posts I saw when the 2.5 upgrade first came out for the Kindle 2s, that if you don't have Wi-Fi or 3G, you won't be able to use the Collections feature until your Kindle connects via wireless to the Amazon site. Why this is, I don't know. (-:

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 9:43:20 AM PDT
Okay, thanks for the info. At least I can still read books on it. It will all just be a bit disorganized for the next 9 months.

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 12:09:08 PM PDT
You can go to the help page and download load the update manually. Thank you for fighting for our freedom.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 27, 2010 12:49:31 PM PDT
ShirleyKat says:
It sounds like you have prior Kindle experience, but just wanted to check that you know how to make use of the various sort methods shown in the upper right corner of the home pages.

Also, when you use Author or Title sort, you can type the first letter of an author name or book title and go directly to the books that start with that letter.

I had more than 500 items on my K2 when we got collections. Even now, I still have that number outside of any collection. The main thing I wanted was a way to get finished books out of that list.

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 12:50:17 PM PDT
No wireless where you are located in Afg? Surprising...there was wireless access in many areas when I was there in 2003...unless you are perhaps way out in the boonies?

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 3:48:21 PM PDT
I never hooked mine up to the compuer but it was easy to make collections on my K2 and K3. I am not sure why you are having trouble with it. I just went to the home page, menu, and added collections. Then the trouble comes in where you have to add books and remember what collection you have put them in.
I have Read, To Read, Classics, Historical, Kids, Instructions, Games and Currently Reading. Oh yeah there is also Archive.
I just wish there was a way the books would show what catagory they are in but since everyone names their differently it would be hard to do.

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 4:20:15 PM PDT
Family Kindle, I think you misunderstand. No one is talking about needing to hook up to a computer to do collections. But you must be connected to Amazon at least once via Whispernet (wifi or 3G) for the Collections command to be activated.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 27, 2010 4:25:17 PM PDT
Lawrence --it will only take a one-time connection if you happen to get somewhere where you can make a wifi connection to Amazon.

I can't imagine why, but it does seem to require that. But since you won't have a connection on a long term basis, you need to know how to back up the collections info. In the Kindle's System folder, there is a file called Collection.json. Copy that to your computer for backup. (You will have to go into folder options and ask to display System and hidden files and folders if you have Windows. I don't know how to do this with a Mac.)

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 4:50:54 PM PDT
Wanda Sykes says:
Lawrence: Since you're receiving interent service for your computer, does the Kindle not use the same connection as your computer? My son is due to deploy (again) shortly and I'm thinking about getting him a Kindle for Christmas to take with him but would be interested to know if he'll be able to connect with it once he's there. I'll watch this thread to see what you find out :() and thank you for your service!!

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 5:03:17 PM PDT
Wanda -- connection via the internet through computer is not what is needed. Yes, you can download books that way.

For this one function Lawrence wants to use, the connection must be made wirelessly through the 3G cell phone network, or through a Wi-Fi router connection through to Amazon.

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 5:32:48 PM PDT
Wanda Sykes says:
I guess I'm confused LOL I don't have a Kindle yet (but it will be here Weds. YIPPEE!!) and I was assuming that if his computer is connectiving via Wi-Fi, isn't that how Kindle's connect?

I've been getting my "Kindle" books on my PC & am so excited to FINALLY be getting the real deal :() Frankly, I was tired of lugging the 'ole laptop to bed! LOL

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 5:38:02 PM PDT
He said he has no wifi capability where he is. He probably has some kind of wired connection to an internet modem. For some reason, that makes a difference in this one feature.

If he goes to a location where he does have a wifi connection to the internet modem, then he can do what he wants. It depends on where he is in Afghanistan. The same will be true for your son. It is a little hard to tell what the conditions are there.

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 5:55:34 PM PDT
Wanda Sykes says:
I hadn't thought about a wired connection and could not figure out how he could get on his computer but not his Kindle. I had a brain lapse LOL

Posted on Sep 27, 2010 5:59:31 PM PDT
That's okay, this is a strange one and no one knows why Amazon is requiring a one time wireless connection for this feature. It makes 0 sense. It isn't you.

Posted on Sep 28, 2010 4:16:06 PM PDT
M.M. says:
I live in a rural area with no wifi, and had the same problem. I could download books from my PC to my Kindle via USB, but the "Create New Collection" option on the menu was grayed out.

This morning I drove to a local McDonalds and used their wifi to initialize my Kindle. Took a few minutes, but now I can create collections, add to them, etc.

Hope you can find wifi somewhere near you in Afghanistan, Lawrence. Meantime, you can still read books. Good luck!

Posted on Jun 19, 2011 7:14:22 PM PDT
Bongo Point says:
Yeah, the real question for me is WHY they are requiring the wi-fi link before you can make collections. It's obviously not a technological reason; the Kindle could easily be set up for making collections right out of the box. And the fact that they won't tell us why, (I just went round and round with tech support and the girl I talked to either couldn't understand my question, or was palying dumb, or else knows but isn't allowed to tell me WHY), only makes me suspicious of their motives. You don't usually have to hide your motives unless they are malevolent. Do they want to install some kind of spy-ware or what???? What good reason do they have for keeping a simple function like "collections" locked up until they get us online via Wi-Fi?

Posted on Jul 18, 2011 7:31:48 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 18, 2011 7:32:34 PM PDT
L. Carter says:
A big thanks to all who have posted here. I am having the exact same issue, I'm in Australia. I am yet to link up via wi-fi so when I do I'm hoping this will fix all my problems!

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 25, 2011 10:32:29 PM PDT
servingseven says:
OPSEC rules here!!! Please remember OPSEC!

Posted on Oct 25, 2011 10:38:44 PM PDT
servingseven says:
I'm also having the same issue here in Japan! There is NO such thing as free WI-FI (as in FREE wireless in McDonald's etc...) and for some reason I cant get on our wireless at home because of Japanese router compatibility issues (even though I bought the Kindle for international shipment). I download books to my laptop and then drag and drop to my kindle BUT I can't use the collections feature!!!!! REALLY annoying!!!!

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 25, 2011 10:40:03 PM PDT
servingseven says:
I agree!!!

Posted on Dec 22, 2011 12:23:19 PM PST
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Book-M-Clifford/dp/1451500483

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 18, 2012 2:29:23 AM PST
I had exactly the same problem until I registered my Kindle with Amazon. Once registered, the "Create New Collection" function was no longer grayed out. On registration my kindle e-mail account was also activiated.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 13, 2014 11:24:06 PM PDT
P. Totton says:
It's actually not to do with the wireless connection- you have to register your kindle first, on the kindle itself.
It means you need an amazon account, so when you register you agree to the kindle license agreement etc.
‹ Previous 1 2 Next ›
[Add comment]
Add your own message to the discussion
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Prompts for sign-in
 


Recent discussions in the Kindle forum

Discussion Replies Latest Post
Announcement
News: Kindle for iOS Software Update 4.6
0 10 days ago
Announcement
Simon & Schuster Agreement
0 Oct 20, 2014
Announcement
Have a Kindle Question?
0 Sep 12, 2012
Love the Echo 2 7 minutes ago
Potentially Perky People - Part Deux 4597 11 minutes ago
KINDLE KITCHEN #4: Home of Family, Friends and Good Food! 6745 13 minutes ago
putting kindle books on my next book 2 19 minutes ago
Kindle and Chromecast not working on Netflix 26 19 minutes ago
RAoK 79/80 - Tis the Season, and the end of the year! 578 19 minutes ago
kindle owners' lending library 26 24 minutes ago
Reset Parental Control Password 286 28 minutes ago
Suggestions for Kindle features 368 30 minutes ago
 

This discussion

Discussion in:  Kindle forum
Participants:  18
Total posts:  30
Initial post:  Sep 27, 2010
Latest post:  Mar 14, 2014

New! Receive e-mail when new posts are made.
Tracked by 2 customers

Search Customer Discussions