Customer Discussions > Laptop forum

Based on what I need, which laptop should I buy? Help!

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-11 of 11 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 10, 2012 7:43:40 AM PST
D. L. Wise says:
I've looked at so many options my head is spinning. I'm not tech savvy so a lot of the specs go over my head. Can someone give me hand?

I'm an author so I use my computer for writing, also for internet, e-mail, and entertainment. I use Skype but I don't necessarily want a webcam. I'm not a gamer so I don't need a powerhouse laptop but I do want something that's fast. Slow loading pages drive me insane.

I'd also like something with a large storage capacity. 1 TB would be super, but I'd accept something smaller like 750 or so. I'd like to be able to take some of my anime videos with me when I travel and I have a sizeable e-library I'd like to download as well. Of course I want a dvd drive of some kind - with write capacity would be best - though I'll mostly be using it to watch dvd's.

Portability is not a huge issue as I don't travel that much so I don't mind if it's not something ultra light in weight. I'd like something with at least a 15 inch screen and I'd even go for a 17".

The laptop doesn't necessarily have to have Word installed, which is what I use for my writing. I have a version of Word I can install myself.

It has to be compatible with a wireless n-type router. My pc, which is set up in an office separate from our house where the router is, is using a D-Link wireless Rangebooster n adapter and I'd like to have the laptop be compatible with the same router. I was looking at an HP model and one of the reviewers said it wasn't compatible with n even though it claimed to be so. Also I've read that HP's have overheating issues so I'm not real anxious to go with an HP.

I've actually preordered this Samsung model: Samsung Series 7 NP700Z5A-S0AUS 15.6-Inch Laptop (Silver),

Samsung Series 7 NP700Z5A-S0AUS 15.6-Inch Laptop (Silver)