Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM
Customer Discussions > Literary Fiction forum

Chick Lit--are women lowbrows?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 60 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Nov 29, 2012 6:13:50 AM PST
Mandogirl says:
As a former English teacher, I would have been happy if my students were reading almost anything versus sitting passively in front of a tv set. Trash reading is better than nothing, at least people are having an experience with the written word. I am not equating reading trashy books with being an intellectual, you are. It is an exercise of certain parts of your brain that use visual language and that's important. One thing about Jane Austen that you don't find with a modern writer of chick lit is that Miss Austen was a social satirist. She despised that women were placed in the position of relying on finding a rich husband. You probably realize that she never married. If you've read her books, you can understand why.

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 29, 2012 5:39:00 AM PST