Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro
Customer Discussions > Literary Fiction forum

Thank God for the Kindle

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-4 of 4 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 2, 2010 6:19:12 PM PDT
M. says:
I am an author who loves traditional books, who wasn't so sure about this whole Kindle thing. Then my husband got one, and I thought it was really cool and bought a couple books on it. When I was able to take a trip and carry six books in one little device, I loved it.

Now, as an author (Midge Raymond, FORGETTING ENGLISH), I have a whole new appreciation for the Kindle: My publisher (Eastern Washington University Press) just closed its doors, and I'm not sure what the fate of the print version is. The great thing about the Kindle is that, fortunately, my book never has to go "out of print." (And, it saves a lot of trees.)

I know EWU Press isn't the only university press that felt the pressure of the current economy -- I'd love to hear how other "orphaned" authors are doing!

Midge Raymond
www.MidgeRaymond.com

Posted on Jul 3, 2010 2:01:43 AM PDT
Helen Smith says:
Hello Midge

There are a lot of authors on here who are publishing their backlist for the kindle. My first two novels Alison Wonderland and Being Light went out of print and publishing them as ebooks was an opportunity to let them live again.