Customer Discussions > Literary Fiction forum

Comfort reading that's not too sappy?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 43 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Aug 23, 2010 9:51:37 AM PDT
WaterWish says:
I am suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder and anxiety. Three books I've read recently were a great comfort to me: "Julie and Julia" by Julie Powell, "Eat Pray Love" by Elizabeth Gilbert, and "Beginner's Luck" by Laura Pederson. The last was not necessarily up to my writing standards but I liked the story of heroine basically being taken in and the amazing opportunities it afforded her. There are many "comfort reading" lists but everyone's idea of comfort differs. I enjoy the fact that these are all fairly young writers (somewhat peers) because I am a sometime writer and their work inspires me. But the stories are definitely important - overcoming adversity (without too much adversity in there to drag it down), light humor, some inspiration, a little escapism into a finer or better life. Any recommendations based on what you know of these three books and how they have helped me?

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 23, 2010 1:18:19 PM PDT
WriterGal says:
W. Waters
You might try Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons or The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. Both have humor. Guernsey has more adversity than Cold Comfort Farm.

Posted on Aug 23, 2010 2:30:35 PM PDT
Try The Ladies No. 1 Detective Agency series, by Alexander McCall Smith. They are wonderful, and if you like them, there are alot!

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 23, 2010 2:52:47 PM PDT
WaterWish says:
I tried those. Something about the locale wasn't comforting to me. It felt hardshippy. Not escapist enough in an "Ahhh, that's nice!" sense.... But thanks for responding.

Posted on Aug 23, 2010 7:48:59 PM PDT
"Colony" by Anne Rivers Siddons. Family dramas in Maine.