Best Books of the Month Shop Men's Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Janet Jackson All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amazon Gift Card Offer blacklist blacklist blacklist  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now STEM Toys & Games
Customer Discussions > Meet Our Authors forum

Meet the Author: Geoffrey Ivar (Classical Japanese Translations)

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-3 of 3 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Apr 8, 2012 8:50:59 AM PDT
Meet the Author: Geoffrey Ivar (Classical Japanese Translations)

Hello, everybody. I thought it would be a good idea to make a thread here to get my name out, and to interact with my readers.

My name is Geoffrey Ivar, I studied Japanese and English Literature at the University of Virginia and then moved to Japan on the JET Programme (Japan Exchange and Teaching Programme) to teach English, improve my Japanese, and gain a greater appreciation for Japanese literature. Although I am currently living in America, I am planning to move back to Japan soon. I will most likely keep up this pattern of travelling back and forth between America and Japan into the near future - I really cannot live too long in one without getting wanderlust for the other!

I am in the admittedly niche market of translating classical Japanese short stories into contemporary English. In my years of studying Japanese, I have always been amazed at the subtle differences between Japanese and English literature, and I have taken it upon myself to translate lesser known, hard to acquire, and never before translated works of revered Japanese writers. Through translation, my hope is that these stories will reach an audience who would otherwise be unable to enjoy them.

I have published a couple of books on the Kindle store, but my most popular work has been the collection of all of my published works so far: A Collection of Japanese Short Stories: Volume 1.