Customer Discussions > Memoir forum

What is your favorite memoir?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 26-50 of 219 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on May 17, 2010 10:58:46 AM PDT
Hello Andrea,
Like the Weekend Chef below, I'm an author just published in Britain promoting my narrative memoir "Caribbean Chemistry" to readers who like interesting and real-life stories. It's set in the Caribbean, on St. Kitts, Nevis, Antigua, Barbados, and Trinidad in the post-war period, 1940-1960. It's a warm and happy book about the mischief a growing boy got up to, and how he moved from the coconut trees on a pinprick of an island to sitting in Nixon's chair in the White House. Phillip Lopate was kind enough to give this endorsement: "A steadily engrossing and capivating picture of a life and a place. We are in Christopher Vanier's debt for these enthralling tales." Please let me know how you like it.
Caribbean Chemistry: Tales from St. Kitts

Posted on May 17, 2010 3:08:03 PM PDT
Kitten says:
"An Unquiet Mind" by Kay Redfield Jamison. This is the definitive bipolar memoir. Her brutal honesty and her lyrical writing combined with her knowledge as a psychologist make for an amazing book I have read many times over. I also liked "Madness: A Bipolar Life" by Marya Hornbacher, and "Wasted" by the same author. She wrote Wasted, about her battles with eating disorders, while she was not yet diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I read Wasted and then Madness, and the puzzle of her eating disorder suddenly made a bit more sense.

Posted on May 21, 2010 4:39:42 AM PDT
Ms. C. Myers says:
Tweaking the Dream: A Crystal Meth True Story