Best Books of the Month Shop Men's Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Grocery Amazon Gift Card Offer jrscwrld jrscwrld jrscwrld  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Fall Arrivals in Amazon Outdoor Clothing STEM Toys & Games
Customer Discussions > Movie forum

Best actor of villainous characters

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 51-75 of 264 posts in this discussion
Posted on May 26, 2011 6:49:29 PM PDT
By the way, looking over wiki's list of horror movies of the 30's, there was "sweeny todd, demon barber of fleet street".

Posted on May 26, 2011 8:07:20 PM PDT
Laust Cawz says:
"90 years ago, I was a freak; today, I'm an amateur."

--John Leslie "Jack The Ripper" Stevenson (David Warner) in "Time After Time" (1979)

Warner actually played one of the good guys in
"The Man With Two Brains" (1983)

Posted on May 27, 2011 6:56:07 AM PDT
TinkHerToy says:
Yeah, I liked Warner in "The Man With Two Brains"....but he still scares me. I LOVE "Time After Time" and always think about it everytime we drive by the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco.....and the music soundtrack as well!

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 12, 2012 4:04:17 PM PDT
Ms. Brentano says:
@R Barnes- Another great villain role of Karloff's was the character he played in The Black Cat. Bela Lugosi actually plays a sympathetic character in that one too.

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 4:28:53 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 12, 2012 4:38:59 PM PDT
Ms. Brentano says:
My favorites are Alan Rickman (Die Hard, Robin Hood, Closet Land), Gary Oldman (Leon:The Professional, True Romance, The Contender, Bram Stoker's Dracula, Hannibal), Basil Rathbone (A Tale Of Two Cities, Robin Hood, The Mark Of Zorro), and Boris Karloff (The Mummy, The Black Cat - 1934 version, The Black Room, The Body Snatcher).

Posted on Jun 25, 2012 8:12:58 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 25, 2012 8:13:25 AM PDT
Peridot says: