Industrial-Sized Deals Shop all Back to School Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon David Ramirez UP3 $5 Off Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Shop Now STEM Toys & Games
Customer Discussions > Music forum

Why do people like Bruce Springsteen?


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 76 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 8, 2013 9:32:24 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 8, 2013 9:33:10 AM PST
Cap'n Crunch says:
I just don't get it. His songs aren't very good.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 9:52:46 AM PST
Lauren says:
I think his songwriting is excellent. The man knows how to write a hook and his song structures can be very interesting - in the early days I'd have called them innovative, though his increasing interest in folk music has led to more basic songwriting. His lyrics are often beautiful and show a keen eye for real people. And nobody in rock puts on a better show!

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 11:03:53 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 8, 2013 11:07:11 AM PST
vivazappa says:
Bruuuce has been one of my favorites since I bought his first record back in 74. (it came out in 73)
Live he packs a punch like no otherplaying long shows with altered setlists each night.
I've seen him well over 40 times since 78 and only missed one tour. (Amnesty tour because he only was given 1 1/2 hours to play.)
I find each of his records fit in with each other but ya gotta listen and have the lyrics handy for the first run through.
Only 2 of them are not favorites...Human Touch and Working on a Dream.
He has the tightest band you'll ever hear...bar none.
He puts his $$$ where his mouth is...local food banks are collected for at each show and matched by Bruuuce.
Even now without Clarence they still play a great show.
One of the best shows I saw was from the very back row of an arena...no other band has ever approached that from the back rows.

He does have crappy cotton for t-shirts!

Oh...and I could care less what anyone else thinks of him...never have...never will.
It just makes it easier for me to get tickets.

The new book Bruce is an eye opener for fans...WOW...a pretty dark book.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 11:14:05 AM PST
I don't know why people like him but I like him because he does songs I enjoy listening to.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 11:16:08 AM PST
Dee Zee says:
Because he's been rocking since 1974.

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 11:32:48 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 8, 2013 11:39:28 AM PST
I'm not a particularly "rabid" Bruce fan. I do own a few of his albums, hits compilation & Live box.

But I DO consider him to be "The Last Great Rock & Roller" in the tradition of Early Elvis, John Fogerty, Dave Edmunds, Bob Seger etc.

I can't really think of any single artist who's come along in the 20 years since to follow him in that lineage of just basic high-energy Rock & Roll performance!

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 11:37:59 AM PST
He's like the Rolling Stones...I can sympathize with someone liking the stuff from decades ago. I just have no clue why they like the newer stuff.

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 11:53:27 AM PST
alysha25 says:
He has a nice butt?

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 11:59:43 AM PST
K. Carter says:
Cool! Haven't seen a new Bruce thread for a while. The vultures are already circling :o)

Lauren puts it in a nutshell very well. Great songwriter and probably an even greater performer. I saw him last spring, and that show was better, longer, and more energized than other shows he did years ago.

@viva - What's dark about the book and how is it? That's one I'm going to have to read. I've read others but none actually authorized by Bruce himself.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 12:03:38 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 8, 2013 1:44:17 PM PST
There is only one word needed to describe Bruce for me.

Honesty.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 12:05:24 PM PST
>>The new book Bruce is an eye opener for fans...WOW...a pretty dark book.<<

Would that be stuff surrounding his first marriage and its very messy aftermath?

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 12:07:16 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 8, 2013 1:50:14 PM PST
vivazappa says:
K.Carter:
He's a very unhappy person (through most of his life, I'm only up to 1996) distrusts everyone in the biz except Jon Landau, loves his fans but even they can present problems, is very tough on his band members and crew, had issues getting physical with an early girlfriend (who was very physical with him), has a bad temper, yet has always been good to those he is tight with. He's a perfectionist over recordings and it drove Miami Steve crazy and he seemed real uncaring about busting up the band.

It's a page turner and the truth did not surprised me because to be that sucessful in that industry one would have to have a strong spine.
Give um hell Bruuuce!

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 12:14:29 PM PST
Yeah, he had that big falling out with his manager.

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 12:15:34 PM PST
vivazappa says:
That takes a few chapters!

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 12:33:07 PM PST
I think it is an East Coast thing.

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 12:42:31 PM PST
vivazappa says:
Ah them Jersey girls!

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 12:46:28 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 8, 2013 12:46:44 PM PST
Since this is a Bruce thread, how about a little Bruce:

>>Sandy, the fireworks are hailin' over Little Eden tonight
Forcin' a light into all those stony faces left stranded on this warm July
Down in town the circuit's full of switchblade lovers, so fast, so shiny, so sharp
As the wizards play down on Pinball Way on the boardwalk way past dark
And the boys from the casino dance with their shirts open like Latin lovers on the shore
Chasin' all them silly New York virgins by the score

Sandy, the aurora is risin' behind us
Those pier lights, our carnival life forever
Oh, love me tonight, for I may never see you again
Hey, Sandy girl... my baby

Now the greasers, they tramp the streets or get busted for sleepin' on the beach all night
Them boys in their high heels, ah Sandy, their skins are so white
And me, I just got tired of hangin' in them dusty arcades, bangin' them pleasure machines
Chasin' the factory girls underneath the boardwalk, where they all promised to unsnap their jeans
And you know that Tilt-a-Whirl down on the south beach drag? I got on it last night and my shirt got caught
And it kept me spinnin', they didn't think I'd ever get off

Sandy, the aurora is risin' behind us
Those pier lights, our carnival life on the water
Runnin', laughin' underneath the boardwalk with the boss's daughter
I remember, Sandy girl... my baby

Sandy, the waitress I was seein' lost her desire for me
I spoke with her last night, she said she won't set herself on fire for me anymore
She worked that joint under the boardwalk, she was always the girl you saw boppin' down the beach with the radio
Kids say last night she was dressed like a star in one of the cheap little seaside bars, and I saw her parked with her lover boy out on the Kokomo
Did you hear, the cops finally busted Madame Marie for tellin' fortunes better than they do?
For me this carnival life's through-- you ought to quit this scene too

Sandy, the aurora is risin' behind us
Those pier lights, our carnival life forever
Oh, love me tonight and I promise I'll love you forever
Oh, I mean it, Sandy girl <<

"Fourth Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)"

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 12:56:59 PM PST
Lauren says:
@Buck That's what I'm talking about. You can imagine every gorgeous little detail. If this or "Incident on 57th Street" or "The River" don't reach you, I suppose you'll never get it.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 1:01:36 PM PST
..... or "Thunder Road", or "Something in the night" or "Darkness at the edge of town".....

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 1:03:07 PM PST
>>You can imagine every gorgeous little detail.<<

.....and he gets it all to rhyme.

Amazing.

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 1:25:51 PM PST
Johnny Bee says:
The only boss I've ever liked.

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 1:39:17 PM PST
Suze says:
Since we moved to Jersey I have developed a greater appreciation for Bruce, he's a national treasure....

xoxoxo

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 1:48:50 PM PST
K. Carter says:
viva -

Thanks for the brief synopsis. Somewhat surprising, but like you said, it's a tough business. I gotta order that book.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 8, 2013 1:58:38 PM PST
Dee Zee says:
Can someone post a product link to the book?

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 1:59:21 PM PST
vivazappa says:
go to amazon...it's just called "Bruce"
‹ Previous 1 2 3 4 Next ›
[Add comment]
Add your own message to the discussion
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Prompts for sign-in
 


 

This discussion

Discussion in:  Music forum
Participants:  32
Total posts:  76
Initial post:  Jan 8, 2013
Latest post:  Aug 25, 2013

New! Receive e-mail when new posts are made.

Search Customer Discussions