Customer Discussions > Music forum

Anti-synth biggots

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 51-75 of 121 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Nov 10, 2012 8:17:47 PM PST
That's interesting. It sounds more like "Daily Nightly" than Moody Blues or "Good Vibrations" to me, but I'm no expert on synthesizers or other electronic instruments.

Thanks.

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 1:19:14 PM PST
Chazzzbo says:
Yeah, I was kinda surprised by the whole Buck Owens thing myself. And I had long heard The Monkees were the first of the pop artists, which surprises me since it was NOT the Beatles, Stones or Beach Boys...like I said, interesting...

Posted on Nov 11, 2012 4:00:09 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 11, 2012 4:34:27 PM PST
@Chazzzbo: The Monkees' pioneering use of the synth is only surprising if one continues to think of them as a bubblegum outfit. If you look more deeply, it's not surprising at all--by virtue of their being the best-selling act of 1967 (outselling even The Beatles, and this was the year of "Pepper"!), they were able to amass an amount of wealth and insider status in the pop industry which kept them abreast of all current developments. They partied with the hippest of the hip, who didn't mind them at all--The Beatles, Mama Cass, Jimi Hendrix, Stephen Stills, Jack Nicholson, Jefferson Airplane and Grateful Dead. They had all the money in the world to spend on studio time and in purchasing fancy new instruments (Moogs cost $20,000 at the time, which put them out of reach of most bands). Also, the "Monkees don't play their own instruments" flap at the beginning of '67 further hardened their resolve to take control of their own destiny and prove they could be a "real", hip band. Wresting control from Kirschner was impressive enough (only in the 60s!), but they were clearly looking for ways to beat the most progressive underground acts at their own game, especially after "Pepper" came out. "Pepper" upped the ante on everything.