Customer Discussions > Mystery forum

new to mysteries

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-12 of 12 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Nov 16, 2012 11:18:18 AM PST
Bill says:
Hello all.

I am new to the mystery genre and admittedly know very little about it. I usually read classic fiction, fantasy, or "literary" fiction, but am looking to put together a mystery reading list. I do not have the stamina to start with a long series but want standalone or short series (no more than 3 books). Also, I do not know what types of novels are included in this genre but I do know that cozy mysteries might not be a good fit. All that to say please recommend a good starting point.

Thanks, Bill

Posted on Nov 16, 2012 11:51:24 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Nov 16, 2012 11:53:14 AM PST
Cluny says:
My current favorite read of recent months (if you don 't mind some graphic scenes) and like police procedual investigation type books was The 7th Woman (Nico Sirsky, Chief of Police)
Other book of quality which takes place in pre Wwii Berlin that I liked immensely was March Violets: A Bernie Gunther Novel .Also excellent "Ghosts of Belfast " Collusion/Ghosts of Belfast Bundle (Detective Jack Lennon) (best buy as bundle) . John Connolly (high body count ---- Every Dead Thing ) is another personal favorite. Check out for suggestions on excellent european authors of non cozy mysteries : http://www.amazon.com/forum/mystery/ref=cm_cd_et_jump?_encoding=UTF8&cdForum=Fx2M2KAK12HD871&cdPage=362&cdThread=Tx2WE2F9PF0N4A6#CustomerDiscussionsLPIT

Posted on Nov 17, 2012 9:49:15 AM PST
[Deleted by Amazon on Nov 19, 2012 1:33:20 PM PST]

Posted on Nov 17, 2012 10:14:15 AM PST
Larry Kelley says: