Customer Discussions > Networking forum

watching my amazon instant video on my tv with out streaming.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 1, 2012 7:25:09 PM PDT
J. Maxwell says:
Hello Everyone. This is my first time posting here, but I've looked everywhere for an answer to my problem, but it just doesn't look like there's a solution.

Here's the situation. My internet service provider recently put a cap on my internet and I don't really have any other options to change that. But, my household is a family of 6 and everyone has their crack at surfing the web, playing games, what ever. When it's all said and done, in one day we have already used up to 4-6 gb's.

That wouldn't be much of a problem, but it doesn't give us much breathing room for things like netflix. I believe my ISP is also padding the number's, because the number's jump ridiculously high if we watch just one movie. The other night it went from 6 gb's in one day, to 20 gb's. all because we watched one movie.

I really don't know what to do about proofing that they are padding the number's, but it seems awfully high for just one movie. so, we are forced to quit our netflix subscription, something we would use 2-3 times a week as a family and try to ration any bandwidth we have with in the month.

I know this is a bit long winded, but here's where my question come's in. is their any device besides an ipod/ipad/pc/tivo, that would allow us to download an amazon instant video and play it on our tv with out streaming it.

Tivo is out of the question right now, as we don't have the kind of money to add another bill. Ipad and ipods are too expensive just for a simple media hub. And a PC that is used only as a means to watch these programs seems a tad extravagant. besides, no pc is cheep enough that includes a hdmi hookup. At least what i've seen.