Customer Discussions > Nikon forum

Nikon D3100

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jun 15, 2012 2:26:18 PM PDT
Ingrid Payne says:
I'm an absolute beginner and would like to know if it is worthwhile getting these accessories or have I chosen the wrong ones? I'd like to take landscapes, especially of the moon over the water and black and white photos of people (non posed). Hope that makes sense.

Nikon MC-DC2 Remote Release Cord - $28.95
Fish Eye Lense Kit which use these (18-55mm, 55-200mm, 50mm) Nikon Lenses includes 0.21X Fish Eye Lens + Wide Angle Lens with Macro + 2X Telephoto lense + multi coated 3pce filter kit (UV-CPL-FLD) - $79.95
PLR Optics +1, +2, +4, +10 Close Up Macro Filter Set - $14.99
PLR Optics High resolution 3pce filter set (UV, Fluorescent and Polariser)

I don't understand the technical lingo and I'm trying to teach myself how to use my camera. Should I get the book D3100 for dummies?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 15, 2012 11:20:54 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 15, 2012 11:23:47 PM PDT
EdM says:
If you will use the remote release cord, you'll likely also need a tripod to put the D3100 on. If you're already holding the camera, you don't need a remote release.

I am not familiar with the rest of your items, but the general rule is that you get what you pay for. Typically, some companies will include [or sell separately] items of low cost but high profit for the store. Those things look to be that kind of thing. Plus, you generally get what you pay for, and vice versa.