Customer Discussions > Photography forum

Zoom Lens for Indoor Sports

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 43 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 6, 2013 6:32:03 PM PST
Ken Schreder says:
I'm an amateur looking for a zoom lens for indoor swimming. I'm considering the Canon EF 70-200 f/4 IS USM at the top range of my budget. I've read people's posts about "low light" and don't know exactly what that means. I want a lens that will freeze the action. My camera is a Canon XTi and I've used the Tamron AF 18-250 Di II lens. I'm satisfied with outdoor shots but not indoor. Can anyone give me their experiences regarding the Canon lens mentioned above or another alternative?

Posted on Feb 6, 2013 8:34:40 PM PST
S. Owens says:
I'm sorry I don't actually have the lens you mention but I do hear good things about it. The drawback to it is that it is still an f/4 lens and when you are trying to shoot action you still can not get a shutter speed as fast as if you were using an f/2.8 lens and image stabilization doesn't help that.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 6, 2013 9:51:28 PM PST
Are you familiar with the exposure triad?

Shutter -- Aperture
\......................./
Sensitivity (ISO)

Changing one of the three will require you to change at least one of the other two to maintain the same exposure.

"Freezing the action" means a shutter speed of of 1/250 for slow action, and 1/500 for faster action. Ignoring "indoor" for the moment, lets also apply "sunny-16"...

Outdoor in bright sunlight: use f16 @1/ISO... Let's assume ISO 100 (typically best quality -- least noise).

f16@1/100 bright sunlight
f11@1/100 bright clouds (distinct shadows)
f8@1/100 heavy haze (no distinct shadows)
f5.6@1/100 dark clouds/stormy day

Even that stormy day is brighter than most indoor situations... Now apply the triad to stop motion...

f4@1/200
f2.8@1/400@ISO 100 Moderate slow action on a stormy outdoor day!

f2.8@1/800@ISO 200