Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Sweepstakes in Prime Music Outdoor Deals on HTL
Customer Discussions > Photography forum

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-15 of 15 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Sep 21, 2012 12:47:00 PM PDT
Marydea Rowe says:
I have bought a Nikon D5100 just for fun. I have no intentions on going pro, but would love to take "WOW" photographs. The two lenses with it is 55 to 200mm and 18 to 55mm ( I think those are the right numbers). My problem is that I want to buy a new lens b/c I love taking photos of my husband who is a football Coach for our local high school. Is that really necessary? Do I REALLY need a new lens? I am just learning my camera but I do want to learn it well so I can take good photos for my pleasure.

Coaches Wife

Posted on Sep 21, 2012 6:55:00 PM PDT
T. Campbell says:
Why would you think you "need" a new lens?

The 55-200mm (which is what you'd use to shoot football) is an f/4-5.6. That's fine for daytime use, but it'll struggle at night under artificial lights.

To "freeze" action you need a shutter speed at around 1/500th... but you might get away with 1/250th if the action is headed toward you rather than sideways. At the 200mm end, the lens is an f/5.6. An f/2.8 zoom (which would be a very expensive lens, btw) collects FOUR times as much light as an f/5.6 lens. That means if the best shutter speed you can manage at f/5.6 is 1/125th, then the f/2.8 lens would be able to do 1/500th in the same lighting.

Again... I'm talking about night games (played under artificial lighting). This doesn't apply to daytime games where you'll have plenty of light.

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 21, 2012 8:43:59 PM PDT