Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro
Customer Discussions > Photography forum

What is the best camera good for night and underwater for a beginner?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-7 of 7 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 23, 2012 10:23:27 PM PDT
E. Pike says:
I'm just getting started, and this will be my second digital camera, but I love taking pictures, especially when in the water, and would like to learn more about taking pictures at night too. What is a good and reasonable priced camera that also wouldn't break the bank?

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 26, 2012 3:12:25 PM PDT
EdM says:
Your post presents numerous problems. First, there is no hint at what YOU THINK is a reasonable price range. Second, optimizing a camera choice for water exposure is a totally different thing from a camera for night photos. Third, in many cases, it is the skill and technique of the photographer that may be more important in doing a particular type of photography. You provide no thoughts on what kind of camera you are thinking of.

On night photography, generally, the larger the camera's sensor, the more low light ability the camera has. So, "full frame 35 mm DSLRs" are very good, but cost ~ $2000 and up. Normal APSc and Micro 4/3 cameras are next [lumped together], and these generally cost $500-$1000 and more. Some compact cameras that are low priced do not do well at night photography, although they can be used with tripods and skilled technique.