Customer Discussions > Photography forum

Best photo enhancement software for beginners

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 123 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jul 10, 2011 5:48:31 PM PDT
relbeis says:
I recently got a Canon Rebel and I'm interested in purchasing photo enhancement software, but I've never used it before. I'm looking for something that's easy to use and not too expensive. I've seen photos online that were edited with Lightroom 3 & NIK Software and they look amazing - but I think these are too advanced for me (not to mention WAY too expensive). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Posted on Jul 10, 2011 6:59:52 PM PDT
T. Campbell says:
Adobe's prices are always insanely high. If you have a Mac, get Aperture ($79) -- it's Lightroom's main competition. One of the things I like about it is that, as a photographer, it "speaks my language" (uses terminology for all the adjustments that a photographer would use... rather than forcing you to learn some terminology invented just for the software.)

Posted on Jul 10, 2011 7:27:16 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 11, 2011 4:24:24 AM PDT
Bobby Dunn says:
Photoshop Elements is reasonable and you will already have the basics if you ever want to move up to Photoshop. It comes free with a lot of cameras, or at least it used to.

Posted on Jul 10, 2011 7:28:43 PM PDT
Bobby Dunn says:
Forgot to mention GIMP, it is open source, pretty good, and the price is right- FREE!!!! Also Scarab Labs has a free RAW converter that is nice.

Posted on Jul 10, 2011 7:58:47 PM PDT
Neo Lee says:
Lightroom does have a kinda steep learning curve IMO, but once you get the hang of it, especially with the presets done, it's really convenient. Lightroom workflow has saved me hours upon hours. Earning $30 from one productive hour here. For just a couple hours alone, the software pays for itself.

Posted on Jul 10, 2011 8:39:20 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jul 10, 2011 8:54:46 PM PDT
Floored says: