Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS
Customer Discussions > Photography forum

Best lens for AMATEUR zoom capable on my T2i

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-16 of 16 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 22, 2012 10:11:49 PM PDT
Rhonda says:
I am not a professional, and photography isn't really a hobby. I have a lot of kids, and a lot of relatives, and I think pictures are important for kids to be able to look back through, so I take pictures. And, my relatives usually love them, and continue to ask me to take more...I have a Canon T2i, with its packaged 18-55 lens. My oldest son graduates from highschool next year, and the ceremony will be inside a 9000 seat auditorium. I know I will need an add-on flash, and have had many people recommend the same one (Canon Speedlite 430EX II Flash for Canon Digital SLR Cameras ) . Now, I need some recommendations on a lens that can get good zoom shots indoors in less than ideal lighting, preferably in the <300$ range. I've been looking at the Tamron AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Zoom Lens and the Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom Lens for Canon Digital SLR Cameras. Any other suggestions or pros/cons for one vs the other?
Your reply to Rhonda's post:
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)

Posted on May 23, 2012 7:59:17 AM PDT
T. Campbell says: