Customer Discussions > Photography forum

New to photography

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 38 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 23, 2012 12:04:21 PM PST
Hi,
I'm new to photography, while I still have not taken any photography classes/courses yet (not until the fall semester), I was hoping to begin by reading some books on the topic, buying a camera and practicing at events.

One of my cousins is organizing a circus event and I thought it would be great for practicing.

I have about 1000.00 for a camera and time for practicing and training.

If someone could just give me some sort of advice or direction.

Also what's a good all around camera for around 1000.00.

Sorry for the such the "noob" question, but every advice is truly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Posted on Feb 23, 2012 12:31:04 PM PST
JCUKNZ says:
You need more than just a camera and though it should cost a fraction of what you pay for the camera of equal importance is a good editing programme and you will need time to become familiar and practiced with it. I'd suggest one of the current M4/3 cameras which should leave enough surplus for Paint Shop Pro X4 or Adobe's Elements v.10. My preference is for Panasonic such as the GH2 or the G3 with the kit lens 14-42mm.
Other priorities for me would be a protective case and a class six SDHC card.

Posted on Feb 23, 2012 1:14:53 PM PST
Hi,
I appreciate the quick reply.
I do own Photoshop CS4. While I'm not pro at it, I get the hang of it or at least some of the basics. Yes and SDHC card is what I will also need, thanks. I will look into Panasonics' GH2 or the G3.

I heard Nikon is very good, would you also recommend a Nikon?

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 23, 2012 1:26:07 PM PST
® says: