Customer Discussions > Pop forum

The 897 Greatest Albums of All Time

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 101-125 of 1000 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Sep 19, 2008 10:58:49 PM PDT
Val H. says:
889. Beck--Sea Change (2002)

I have no knowledge of Beck whatsoever (except for Loser which was on the 897 singles) and it is probably my loss, but I feel no compulsion whatever to discover his music. Very unadventurous I know. He's probably great but I'm going to pass.

0/10

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 20, 2008 12:06:26 AM PDT
Val H. says:
887. Lynyrd Skynyrd--Second Helping (1974) (#12 Billboard)

(I will come back to Linda Ronstadt but I've been playing Second Helping a bit this week).

Hooray! An album I own! And my CD has 11 tracks, the extra one being the single version of Don't Ask Me No Questions. Again I am a fairly recent convert to southern rock but I find it has a raw energy and honesty that appeals to me. For a 1974 album I reckon this holds up very well. Probably cos I don't live in the U.S. and don't listen to Classic Rock stations, Sweet Home Alabama hasn't suffered from overplay. I still like it, especially the honky-tonk piano which also features on other tracks. The three-guitar line-up gave a great chunky sound to this album and the song-writing is very strong.

8/10

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 20, 2008 10:53:45 AM PDT
Last edited by the author on Feb 13, 2011 8:27:05 AM PST
Mark F. says:
Valerie,

Thanks for your rating!

OK, I rebooted my computer and now I'm able to get into YouTube. Don't know why that happened but there it is. So, on with the review.

886. Rolling Stones--Flowers (1967) (no rating; compilation)

1. Ruby Tuesday (9)
2. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing in the Shadows? (8)
3. Let's Spend the Night Together (8+)
4. Lady Jane (4+)
5. Out of Time (4)
6. My Girl (?) (6)
7. Back Street Girl (?) (5)
8. Please Go Home (?) (3)
9. Mother's Little Helper (8+)