Customer Discussions > Religion forum

I really miss the smart atheists

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 1000 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Oct 5, 2012 3:46:11 PM PDT
I have been participating in Amazon discussions for about six years. For quite awhile, my 'home forum' was the discussion forum for Richard Dawkins' 'The G-d Delusion'. I was one who denied the existence of G-d, in that forum. We had some razor sharp atheists, back then. Atheism was 'in'.

About a year and a half ago, I had a spiritual re-awakening. My faith returned to me. I started arguing against militant atheists, who were becoming so aggressive with their 'creed', that they were making rivaling the religious intolerance that they claimed to be offended by. Atheism, as a creed, has all of the worst traits of the aggressive proselytizing religions, and no redeeming qualities. It literally markets pointless hatred and intolerance.

The most intelligent atheists left. The pointless intolerance of atheism, in its creedal form, was not something that more thoughtful atheists wanted to associate with.

Consequently, intelligent discussion has pretty much dried up. I miss the discussions with the intelligent skeptics. The current crop offers nothing more than mindless scoffing, and expressions of self-delusion concerning their ability to reason.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 5, 2012 4:03:26 PM PDT
brunumb says:
If you're looking for mindless scoffing Jen, read the OP.

In reply to an earlier post on Oct 5, 2012 4:13:02 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Oct 5, 2012 4:14:07 PM PDT
A Customer says: