Customer Discussions > Romance forum

Fanfiction

This discussion has reached the maximum length permitted, and cannot accept new replies. Start a new discussion

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 1000 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 11, 2012 1:53:22 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 11, 2012 1:54:02 PM PST
Bitchie says:
I've seen people talking about fanfic in a lot of places, so I thought I'd give us one place to discuss our faves and least favorites, stories and authors, and where to find it, maybe make some trades.

I'd also like for people to list books/stories that started out as fanfic but have since been published as real books.

Personally, I am new to the world of fanfic. I've always known it was out there, but I prefer my own vision of characters to remain pure and clean, so I don't read a lot of fanfic. However, a lot of my favorite books recently started out as fanfic, so I'm rethinking my stance on the whole thing.

List of what I knew started out as Fanfic:
[
Fifty Shades of Grey most of us know by now this started out as Twilight Fanfic, although I didn't see Bella and Edward anywhere in these stories. Just little glimpses here and there a light would shine and remind me of something.

Poughkeepsie I've heard this started as twific as well. In this one, the male lead, the"Edward" is a homeless guy who is terrified of the sun, and thinks he disappears in sunlight. I haven't gotten to the meat of why he feels this way yet, but I'm enjoying the read.

Sempre (Forever) Another Twilight Fic, I haven't read this yet, but it's on the TBR.

The Forbidden Room I was shocked to learn that this, too started out as twific, not sure if it's true or not. I also think this author's Little Boy Lost series got it's start as fanfic.