Customer Discussions > Science Fiction forum

The best science fiction short story anthology

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 38 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 12, 2011 11:34:10 PM PST
Music Man says:
I am new to the science fiction genre, and was wondering what would be the best science fiction anthology to start with. I love short stories, and I'm trying to find a solid collection, that includes a lot of the classic sci-fi authors, to get me hooked. Does anybody out there have any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Posted on Mar 13, 2011 1:35:52 AM PST
B. E. Morrow says:
Try any of the Ray Bradury one title that springs to mind in short stories of his is they were Brown Skinned with Golden eyes. about colonizing Mars and the inhabitants changing good story. H.G. Wells. and Jules Verne. Specific anthology i have read is the Rune lords. and Sword of Truth series. Start with the book. The Wizards first rule.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 13, 2011 11:10:01 AM PDT
You can't go wrong with the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. There are three volumes at this point, and volume one is full of the stories by the like of Azimov, Bradbury, Heinlein, Campbell, Sturgeon and Zelazny. You can't get more classic than that.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 13, 2011 11:12:14 AM PDT
Tom Rogers says:
second hall of fame, vol.1 is a gem

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 13, 2011 11:18:44 AM PDT
Music Man says:
Thanks Thomas, John, and Dragondark! Those are great suggestions - I just put the Science Fiction Hall of Fame books and one of the Rune Lord books in my shopping cart! Thanks again.

Posted on Mar 13, 2011 2:06:40 PM PDT
David Hartwell's anthology The Ascent of Wonder and the Norton Book of Sf are other good starting points. The Rune Lords? That stuffs pretty crappy.

Posted on Mar 13, 2011 2:30:48 PM PDT