Customer Discussions > Science Fiction forum

Is NASA On Life Support?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 226-250 of 1000 posts in this discussion
Posted on Feb 2, 2010 11:47:36 AM PST
C'mon Ronald. Give her a break on this one. I worked in the computer industry for 35 years and I'm always amazed by the new things I learn even now.

Posted on Feb 2, 2010 11:56:38 AM PST
Sigh, kiss the Moon and Mars goodbye for a while. The latest on the budget fallout is that NASA is to cancel it's Constellation program and work on future enabling technologies. I guess it will work out if they come up with some really good missions once they do all the work, but I guess it's going to be Dullsville for quite some time.

The best positive spin on the new budget that I've seen is over at the Planetary Society at http://www.planetarysociety.org/about/press/releases/2010/0201_Planetary_Society_Welcomes_New_NASA.html

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 2, 2010 12:10:57 PM PST
The way I see it, when leaders try to lower horizons even with the best of reasons, they tend to make it hard for a nation to "dare to think big" and "shoot for the stars."

I think it has been remarked by greater minds than mine, but had the United States not waged a war in Vietnam in the 1960s and cooperated with the then-extant Soviet Union more, all the things we saw in Stanley Kubrick's 2001 - at least the space travel part of it - would have come to pass.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 2, 2010 3:23:17 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 2, 2010 4:02:30 PM PST
Doug says:
"Kiss Mars goodbye for a while?"
I'd say a LOOOOOONG while. If we don't get off this planet now, we will NEVER do it. Here we are, as smart as we have ever been as an example of homo sapiens; between ice ages, tons of resources at our disposal, almost unlimited energy and we have short sighted idiots leading the tribes.
"For better or worse,,, a society GETS the government it DESERVES." author unknown ( at least by mee)