Customer Discussions > Science Fiction forum

Speculative Book Covers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-17 of 17 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Feb 19, 2013 2:41:33 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Feb 19, 2013 3:22:17 PM PST
Greggorio! says:
Hello. I am new to this discussion board so please forgive me if this discussion has already taken place. anywho, i am asking which authors in your opinion have the best covers on their books?

I have been impressed for years by Peter F Hamilton's space opera covers, even up to the point of buying a second copy of a book i have already read. Compared to the bland covers of some of the mightiest works of fiction ever written (Jordan, George RR Martin et al) then his covers really stand out.

the only one that comes close to Hamilton in my opinion are the covers of Steven Erikson's Tales of the Fallen series.

i am interested in what you all think.

Thank you in advance.

Greggorio *grins*

Posted on Feb 19, 2013 5:11:03 PM PST
It's not the author who is responsible for the cover. It's the artist. So it's easy for an author to have a fantastic cover one book and a horrible cover the next.

Being a fan of classic pulp type fiction my favorites are Boris Vallejo and Frank Frazetta.

And if you love the cover art that much don't buy a second copy of the book. Buy a print of the cover.

Posted on Feb 19, 2013 5:13:53 PM PST
OK, I'm going to show my age. I always like Frazetta's work.

Ex. Savage Pellucidar-> http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4081/4899915011_8c8231694e_z.jpg
More examples-> http://www.erbzine.com/mars/ffcore.html

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2013 2:57:33 PM PST
Greggorio! says:
Howdy CivWar64 - not familiar with Frazetta but i will check him out when i can. Thanks a lot. BIG.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 20, 2013 2:58:52 PM PST
Greggorio! says:
TJ - i like your thinking. I did not even think of buying the print of the cover. :-)