Customer Discussions > Science forum

Questions about free fall speed and 9/11

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 663 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 4, 2013 7:53:12 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 6, 2013 9:23:59 AM PST
anne says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2013 8:10:21 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 4, 2013 11:21:51 AM PST
J. Deen says:
Hi Anne,

I'm not a structural engineer, but I play one on the interwebs*.

Here is a link that could answer your question and others:

"This started the domino effect that caused the buildings to collapse within ten seconds, hitting bottom with an estimated speed of 200 km per hour. If it had been free fall, with no restraint, the collapse would have only taken eight seconds and would have impacted at 300 km/h."
http://www.tms.org/pubs/journals/jom/0112/eagar/eagar-0112.html

*not really, that was a fib

Posted on Mar 4, 2013 8:25:33 AM PST
A. Caplan says:
The building wasn't in free fall. There was air resistance and the factor of each floor and other parts of the lower structure resisting movement until overcome by the force of the falling material.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2013 8:36:51 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 4, 2013 8:37:21 AM PST
anne says:
[Customers don't think this post adds to the discussion. Show post anyway. Show all unhelpful posts.]

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 4, 2013 8:53:43 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Mar 4, 2013 8:54:26 AM PST
J. Deen says:
Anne, I believe the figures in question are referring to how quickly the north and south towers feel, not the others. The day the figures are consistent with expectations of destruction due to the airplane crashes and subsequent structural failures. I can cite a much more academic and math-heavy paper that concludes the same thing.