Customer Discussions > Sewing forum

Newbie to embroidering

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 46 posts in this discussion
Initial post: May 29, 2012 2:00:51 PM PDT
Honulii says:
I am interested in buying an embroidering machine. I am a novice sewer, I've done a lot of baby blankets & hemming, but it's been a decade and a half since I've sewn any clothing.

I don't know anything really about embroidering, but I'm interested in making patches, labeling towels, blankets, etc for my little one and for kids' gifts. So basically names and characters (like Elmo, Hello Kitty, etc).

I'm currently looking at the Brother PE-500 as it's inexpensive and advertised as easy to use for beginners. I'm wondering how complicated it would be to do multiple colored characters (like Hello Kitty) because I have a feeling if it's a pain, I probably won't be using my embroiderer very much....

Any suggestions, pointers, assistance would be appreciated!

Posted on May 29, 2012 2:04:21 PM PDT
Honulii says:
I would also like to know if I get a machine that can only do 4x4, if I could also do lettering across a bath towel - say 3" letters if I did the letters one by one?

In reply to an earlier post on May 29, 2012 5:32:20 PM PDT
Julee says:
Get the PE 780D. You'll love it!

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 3, 2012 1:27:51 AM PDT