Customer Discussions > Space Opera forum

What Is the Oldest Space Opera?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 41 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 20, 2010 8:45:48 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 20, 2011 7:50:50 AM PST
What would you consider the oldest space opera? Wikipedia puts the oldest at 1854. I like to write and read space opera, but am not really a historian of the genre, so I was wondering if it goes back any further than that.
Joe Chiappetta
Star Chosen: A Science Fiction Space Opera for the Whole Family

Posted on Dec 20, 2010 8:39:04 PM PST
I studied a bit about Victorian science-fiction in college, and I sort of doubt that there would be much that we would recognize as "space opera" till after the turn of the 19th Century. That said, there are stories, that we would now regard as myths from centuries ago about "space travel", even though at the time they were written, people believed that the air went on forever. Look up Lucian of Samosata; in about 160 AD he wrote two stories about journeys to the Moon.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 21, 2010 3:57:24 AM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 21, 2010 4:06:07 AM PST
Stephen, Thanks for the comment. I suspected that there might be something like what you are saying from the classical period, but couldn't be sure. I just looked Lucian up and found the book you might be referring to! It's called "True History," or "Trips to the Moon." I even see that Amazon has a free version for Kindle, so I am getting that right away: Trips to the Moon

What I plan on doing is reading it and then comparing it to my own space opera Star Chosen, to see how many early elements that seeped into our culture as influences can be traced back from my book to Lucian's. Again, I heartily thank you.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 21, 2010 3:28:40 PM PST