Customer Discussions > Textbook Buyback forum

What's with the really HIGH prices by some used book sellers?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 126-150 of 317 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Jun 5, 2012 7:05:04 AM PDT
That was my thought bas well. This is obviously an attempt not to SELL the book, but to drive up the AVERAGE price for a book or inventory. A related puzzle to me is why the pprices of Amazon books flucuate like the stock market,i.e. up by .50 or down by $1.00 while in my cart??

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 5, 2012 8:17:39 AM PDT
Would that I were an attorney. As a layman I treat my cart as an offer to buy that is consummated only when I place my order.

That said, in my business when the representative and I agree on a fee, that is the fee at which the contract is drawn, our agreement by phone or in person being considered a verbal contract. Our word is our bond. Evidently Amazon do not consider that to be the case when buying from them. Possibly because one may delete an item from the cart, thus cancelling the order.

Let's hope that someone with knowledge of the law will answer your query.

Posted on Jun 5, 2012 11:47:32 AM PDT
It's all about the sellers who use bots to manage their listings. The bots are programmed to raise and lower the price according to the demand and other criteria. What happens then is that the bots get in "bidding" wars with one another driving prices either up or down. Usually these sellers will have more than one listing or even another account, one with an inflated Bot-driven price and one with a normal price. The normal prices then seem to be incredible bargains so they sell really well.

In reply to an earlier post on Jun 5, 2012 1:28:38 PM PDT
Last edited by the author on Jun 5, 2012 1:30:21 PM PDT