Why list books for One Cent

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 151-175 of 375 posts in this discussion
Posted on Dec 4, 2011 1:51:58 AM PST
[Deleted by Amazon on Dec 4, 2011 7:38:59 AM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 4, 2011 5:09:00 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 4, 2011 5:10:14 PM PST
Crystal says:
People criticizing his post was inevitable, he was arrogant, condescending and belittling.

Telling a person 'Please...I'm laughing so hard that I'm having a hard time typing this' and 'You don't know what you're talking about. I've been writing and publishing for 10 years and have seen it all. You haven't' is asking for a verbal smackdown.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 5, 2011 2:24:46 PM PST
Lynn S. says:
You need to learn more about the cost to ship different sized/weighted books at media mail rate and priority flat rate. Weigh books and determine cost of packaging and shipping, then decide how much to list the book for to make a profit (less Amazon commission). There are some books that are too large and heavy to list for a penny and then ship via media mail and make a profit. You could try selling on ebay instead.
Many books are light weight and cost less than 3.99 to ship. If you're packaging costs are low - you could make a buck or so on a penny book. I personally, don't like to sell books anymore unless they are listed at at least $5. I just don't have the energy to fiddle with it or risk losing money on it (via Amazon fulfills) and will donate the book instead. Selling used books is a hobby for me.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 5, 2011 2:25:41 PM PST
Lynn S. says:
Don't sell a book for that cheap. It's not worth your time unless you have thousands of books and do a volume business.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 27, 2012 3:33:50 PM PST
Is the "Book Rate" different from the "Media" rate?

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 27, 2012 3:34:14 PM PST
Is the book rate the same as the media mail?