Customer Discussions > Thriller forum

authors who were CIA, Delta Force, etc.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 37 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 31, 2012 4:30:48 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Jan 31, 2012 9:45:59 PM PST
Rondine says:
Can anyone recommend fiction by authors who have had experience with various 'black ops'? I would really like to read a good thriller by someone who knows what he/she is talking about.

I'm new to this genre but I'd prefer to do without excessive and gratuitous gore and sex. To me, those are the marks of a second-rate writer.

Posted on Jan 31, 2012 4:43:23 PM PST
Miss M says:
I've always liked Brain Haig's (yep-son of Al) Maj Sean Drummond stories - yeah, he's JAG aaand special ops, so perhaps some suspension of disbelief first, but they're tightly-written with snappy/sarcastic dialogue - pretty entertaining.
Believe Secret Sanctions is the first one.

LOL - or you could always check out this self-pubbed gem:
Memoirs of a US Federal Agent

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 31, 2012 5:44:54 PM PST
Wallaby says:
You would like the John Rain series written by Barry Eisler. He is ex CIA and writes very authentically. His hero is a free-lance Hit man, and there is loads of espionage and adventure in the series. John Rain, the assassin has am interesting ethic.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 1, 2012 9:54:27 AM PST
I recently read Ganymede - a Tale of Middle Eastern Intrigue by Terrence Douglas former CIA. Fast moving, captivating look into a CIA case officer's work as several agents turn up dead.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 1, 2012 11:12:19 PM PST
Take a look at the novels by Andy McNab, ex British SAS. As for excessive sex, I just don't remember as I read them several years ago.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 4, 2012 2:23:59 PM PST
[Deleted by the author on Feb 4, 2012 2:24:07 PM PST]

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 4, 2012 3:02:07 PM PST