Customer Discussions > Video Games forum

So I started playing Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. Here are my impressions so far.

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 66 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Dec 1, 2012 3:59:44 PM PST
Well I got the game plus two DLC quests for $12 on Amazon this past week.

I love the combat, and apparently having ME3 granted me some awesome starting armor and weapons. Chakrams are awesome!

It feels like any other fantasy RPG. I have this really important main quest to save the world, but let me help all these random people first! The world seems pretty generic with light and dark elves and different types of humans. However, I love the story conceit about fate controlling everything. Having no fate yourself is one of the better explanations about why the player is the only one who can do this saving the world thing.

Is it worthwhile to invest in blacksmithing or alchemy? Will I be able to craft stuff better than what I get as drops?

Do enemies and resources respawn?

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2012 4:03:30 PM PST
Last edited by the author on Dec 1, 2012 4:04:11 PM PST
DVvM says:
I think you will be able to craft better stuff than items that drop. By the end of the game I was using only items that I crafted myself. But there's no real reason to max out those skills (or sagecrafting) since you can boost them with potions to get the mastercrafting bonus.

Enemies that are not part of scripted events respawn, and harvestable resources (e.g. plants) do respawn.

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 1, 2012 4:04:42 PM PST
Blacksmithing and detect hidden are 2 skills that will pay big dividends. Enemies respawn, and if you are talking about alchemy reagents, those do as well. If you get going into blacksmithing, money can be kinda tight early because you are going to want to break EVERYTHING down, just about, for the components.

Posted on Dec 1, 2012 4:05:24 PM PST
elect Tron says: