Customer Discussions > Video Games forum

Final Fantasy 13

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-25 of 61 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Mar 22, 2012 9:16:58 AM PDT
I started playing FF13 last week and I am struggling to get into it. 6 hours in and I've seen probably half of that in cutscenes. A lot of whining and grunting. I am now at the Odin battle, and he has assaulted me so hard that I am close to giving up.

So my question is, does it get better? I really want to like the game. The visuals are cool and the characters are interesting (except Hope). I'm just having a hard time getting into the story when every 5 minutes I do a couple of battles then long cutscene.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 22, 2012 9:21:58 AM PDT
MrFoxhound says:
Apparently the game doesn't get good, gameplay wise, until chapter 12 or 13. That is when you get the open area and it seems more like a FF game. Gameplay wise FF XIII-2 is much better, from what I've heard. So you can either stick it out until almost the end of the game, or just start playing XIII-2 and youtube the ending of XIII.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 22, 2012 9:23:01 AM PDT
Ice King says:
I would say no, it doesn't. The cutscenes decrease and you eventually end up in a place where you can roam around and complete different missions but after that it's back to the same old routine until the end.

I really want to like this game too and wish I did so I could have been excited about FFXIII-2.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 22, 2012 9:23:22 AM PDT
And as soon as it gets good... it ends.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 22, 2012 9:23:49 AM PDT
I'm stuck at the Odin battle as well. Just kind of gave up at that point.

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 22, 2012 9:27:20 AM PDT
Yeah Odin is giving me a terrible spanking. I know I got to do an auto chain or something on him but I barely have time to set up my moves before he lays the hammer down on me.