Customer Discussions > Video Games forum

OT: How many missed paychecks would it take for you to be homeless?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 51-75 of 122 posts in this discussion
In reply to an earlier post on Dec 18, 2012 11:25:40 AM PST
M. Lewis says:
I got lucky with student loans. I graduated in 2003 with more than $30,000 but consolidated right away and got a very low interest that got lower when paid on time for a year. The rate is only 1.85%.

Posted on Dec 18, 2012 11:35:59 AM PST
Banner says:
Wow, I should have been coming to the vgf for financial advice.

Posted on Dec 18, 2012 11:39:46 AM PST
M. McFly says:
never

Posted on Dec 18, 2012 11:39:57 AM PST
Only two. Then I'd have to move in with my in-laws. sad story

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 18, 2012 11:43:56 AM PST
Chewy5431 says:
That IS a good rate!

I realized something this last year when I decided to pay off all of my debt though. When I graduated I had 2 loans:

1) $10k at 5%
2) $12k at 3%

Both had an $80 min monthly payment so I paid $100 on the 5% interest rate loan and the min on the other. I did that for a couple of years and then had to go to min payments for both. 8 years later I went back to both of these loans and decided to pay them off as fast as I could. Loan #1 at 5% that I paid extra on only had $300 left to go while loan #2 that I only paid minimums the whole time still had $9k left to go!

The moral of the story is: pay off your student loans as fast as you possibly can. If I had continued to make min payments I would have paid on it for 40 years and would have paid more than double the initial principal in interest!

In reply to an earlier post on Dec 18, 2012 11:45:05 AM PST
Chewy5431 says:
There's quite a deep well of knowledge here. I was surprised myself!

Posted on Dec 18, 2012 11:45:35 AM PST
Sheila (NJ) says: