Customer Discussions > Weight Loss forum

Bitter Orange Extract as a fat burner and appetite suppressant??

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-14 of 14 posts in this discussion
Initial post: Jan 25, 2012 8:44:57 AM PST
I'm just learning about bitter orange extract and that supposedly it ia a great fat burner and appetite suppressant. It's pretty cheap; 10 Grams Synephrine HCL 99% (Bitter Orange Extract) (Citrus Aurantium Extract) Bulk Powder . But I still like to hear some people's experiences with it before I took the plunge. From what I read, it says there are no bad side effects. Is this true???

Posted on Jan 26, 2012 4:13:04 AM PST
Hi Kaela- I've taken it in the past, really like it as an alternative to fat burning pills which have always given me negative side effects. I've taken bitter orange with Octopamine HCL and had great results. I've also heard of combining Yohimbine with bitter orange although I've never tried that. But yes it's a good fat burner and does help to curve your appetite, in my experience.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 29, 2012 9:21:05 AM PST
Sarah says:
I love bitter orange extract! yohimbine not so much.

In reply to an earlier post on Feb 2, 2012 10:34:27 PM PST
spookiewon says:
Just be careful! Synephrine is a close relative of, and acts in the body like, pseudoephedrine (the main component in methamphetamine, which is why you have to ask at the pharmacy to get Sudafed) and epinephrine (adrenaline). All these are good for energy and appetite control and have been used for weight loss effectively, but they can be he11 on the heart. Just because somebody uses the name of a plant they extract it from and calls it natural doesn't make it safe. Remember, cyanide can be from "all natural peach and apricot pits" and it's still a deadly poison. "Natural" isn't a synonym for "safe."