Customer Discussions > Women's Fiction forum

Great Beach Reads for Women


Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 101-125 of 127 posts in this discussion
Posted on Jul 27, 2012 8:56:02 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Aug 5, 2012 11:48:02 AM PDT]

Posted on Jul 27, 2012 8:57:51 PM PDT
Do you really know how you would handle it? Are you sure? What would you do-what could you do if your first love, the guy that taught you everything about love came back into your life? What if he never really left? You married someone else, you have kids, you made the good and moral decision to be faithful, to move on. But this guy is always there for you when you need him the most, and he is so deeply embedded in your heart and soul, there is no saying no. Can you love two people with complete passion? Do you feel something must be missing somewhere? Maybe not. Sacred Sin, a modern, racy love story lets you decide what is right or wrong, because Jenny can't.

Sacred Sin (MacLaren's Women Book 1)
http://www.smashwords.com/view/85160
Sacred Sin (MacLaren's Women)

Posted on Jul 29, 2012 11:02:18 AM PDT
Helen Ginger says:
Angel Sometimes has a plan: Go home to Oklahoma and ask her mother why she loved her one day, then threw her out like garbage the next. After three years on the streets of South Padre Island, she hitched a ride to Austin, Texas, where she gets a job swimming as a mermaid in a bar in the music district. At 22, she has friends, a place to live, and a future but she realizes it's time to go home. To do that, she needs three things: her high school diploma, a car and a gun.

I wrote Angel's story while at the Vermont Studio on a fellowship grant from the Brown Foundation. I often felt so close to her that I could hear her talking in my head. I hope you'll feel just as close to her as you read her story.

Helen Ginger, author of Angel Sometimes Angel Sometimes

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 29, 2012 3:46:16 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Jul 29, 2012 3:49:22 PM PDT]

Posted on Jul 29, 2012 3:49:07 PM PDT
J.J.Brown says:
My collection of short stories set in New York explores death and dreams exposing psychological horror in ordinary lives. The characters, young and old, explore the fine line drawn between sanity and insanity, reality and dream, life and death. A young woman scientist is locked in a lab in an experiment turned nightmare. A student searching for love is caught in a dream. A hit man confronts his childhood trauma, and other deliciously dark tales. As a scientist, I bring the authenticity of a modern science background to these realistic stories of psychological struggle.Death and the Dream

In reply to an earlier post on Jul 31, 2012 1:42:17 PM PDT
Pickin' Tomatoes by JW Bull. It's a fun, light read that's part Stephanie Plum, part Bridget Jones and part pre-renown Julia Child. Enjoy!

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 1, 2012 11:33:47 AM PDT
Winds of Change is about finding the courage to love again after suffering the loss of the love of your life. Four people and one feisty little boy come together to explore the bonds of friendship and family in this "heartwarming and lovely" story.Winds of Change

Posted on Aug 2, 2012 2:27:42 PM PDT
Die, Die, Diet is my favorite read for the beach. It's great on the Kindle, or your iPad or netbook. It's a hoot! Witty, fast paced & great for the beach!!! Five stars!

Posted on Aug 3, 2012 4:14:55 AM PDT
Sarah says:
This was a great escape book for the beach! Funny dilemmas and heart warming story about trying to find 'the one'.
Interfering With Nature

Posted on Aug 5, 2012 11:44:24 AM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Aug 5, 2012 12:06:28 PM PDT]

Posted on Aug 5, 2012 6:49:11 PM PDT
This one will have you laughing out loud: Underground Nest. It's the story of a philandering Scoutmaster who meets his match in a powerful woman.

Posted on Aug 6, 2012 10:58:48 AM PDT
Can I add my recently published debut novel, "Captiva Daze"? A young family-man tries to balance his family and partying lifestyle on a real Florida island. His wife doesn't want to be there, and the 'native' islanders want nothing really to do with him. Still, he manages to quaff a few strong boat-drinks and have good conversations on life, politics, and God. Entirely readable in two afternoons. Would love to know any comments about it! Thanks!

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 7, 2012 1:47:14 PM PDT
ENovak says:
Made me want to make it into a movie!
I found this one this morning:

In reply to an earlier post on Aug 8, 2012 4:56:15 PM PDT
[Deleted by the author on Aug 8, 2012 5:10:40 PM PDT]

Posted on Sep 8, 2012 1:44:53 PM PDT
Jess J says:
Two Pair: Quadruple or Nothing (Volume 1)

In reply to an earlier post on Sep 8, 2012 2:31:41 PM PDT
[Deleted by Amazon on Oct 29, 2012 11:08:14 AM PDT]

Posted on Sep 10, 2012 11:06:54 AM PDT
carrie vacha says:
20 Shades of Purple! A funny dirty little book!

In reply to an earlier post on Nov 13, 2012 2:48:13 AM PST
SL Dublin says:
A Gathering Storm Alberta Clipper is a great modern office romance story, but with deeper themes of guilt and loss. It's a book for fans of Marian Keyes or Jojo Moyes.

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 10, 2013 6:08:11 AM PST
[ASIN:1935340867 Dogs Have Angels Too]

In reply to an earlier post on Jan 10, 2013 6:09:12 AM PST
[ASIN:B005P2ABNE Dogs Have Angels Too]

Posted on Feb 12, 2013 12:55:00 PM PST
The Fifteen Houses: A Novel

This is the book I am going to follow for years to come. I can not wait to read the next one.

The author has such a way of telling this story that I could not put it down. Many times I was so deep in this book that I felt my own hand on the every door handle!

Guaranteed to be a loved book!

Edit this post | Permalink

In reply to an earlier post on Mar 29, 2013 3:09:59 PM PDT
DW says:
Please try my novel, CHick FLick by Deryn Warren. See what indie reviewers (not Amazon) said below.

A fun romp that fans of women's fiction and chick lit will enjoy from beginning to end . . . Warren writes her novel with a sure hand and an easy conversational style, and as a result, Chick Flick is a pleasure to read.
Blue Ink Reviews
A surprisingly comedic novel, I found myself entwined in Sara's dramatic life and rooting for her through and through. A great, quick read, this novel will leave you feeling empowered and inspired.

Mom Central

Posted on Mar 29, 2013 3:10:40 PM PDT
DW says:
CHICK FLICK BY DERYN WARREN
"A fun romp that fans of women's fiction and chick lit will enjoy from beginning to end . . . Warren writes her novel with a sure hand and an easy conversational style, and as a result, Chick Flick is a pleasure to read.
Blue Ink Reviews
A surprisingly comedic novel, I found myself entwined in Sara's dramatic life and rooting for her through and through. A great, quick read, this novel will leave you feeling empowered and inspired.

Mom Central

Posted on Jul 22, 2013 1:48:44 PM PDT
kcb says:
How about a fish-out-of-water tale with a fashion twist? The Makeover - available in paperback or Kindle - tells the story of NY Fashion Editor Camillia Rhodes, who first loses her job, and then her identity, when left no choice but to relocate to small town Markleeville in Michigan. Think Miranda Priestly as Doc Hollywood.

Posted on Jul 22, 2013 3:24:46 PM PDT
DW says:
How about my book, Chick Flick, which the head of casting of HBO called "the funniest book about heartbreak I have ever read? It has been getting great blog reviews and one really special review from Blue Ink Reviews. It is about a woman director in Los Angeles whose husband leaves her and her four children for another woman when the baby is only five months old. There are film elements in it as the novel turns into a script when she fantasizes about revenge or is upset. Please read a chapter on Amazon or Barnes and Nobel and then please buy a copy or ten . . .
[Add comment]
Add your own message to the discussion
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Prompts for sign-in
 


Recent discussions in the Women's Fiction forum (41 discussions)

 

This discussion

Discussion in:  Women's Fiction forum
Participants:  96
Total posts:  127
Initial post:  May 18, 2010
Latest post:  May 20, 2014

New! Receive e-mail when new posts are made.
Tracked by 18 customers

Search Customer Discussions