Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro
Profile for Subject > Reviews

Browse

Subject's Profile

Customer Reviews: 5
Top Reviewer Ranking: 18,531,122
Helpful Votes: 16


Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Subject RSS Feed

Show:  
Page: 1
pixel
Mother and Child: A Novel
Mother and Child: A Novel
by Carole Maso
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $22.70
36 used & new from $1.08

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magic, September 10, 2012
There's a dense magic at work in this inventive mix of genres: where prose poetry meets spell and novel morphs into prayer this wonderful book transforms expectations and takes readers on an astonishing voyage through a shimmering landscape as personal as it is political. In the tradition of Clarice Lispector and Max Frisch, as well as Virginia Woolf, Maso makes something all her own of our obdurate, difficult, moment, slowing time and expanding possibilities until, when you set the book down, experience feels, once more, fresh and real and rich... This is one of our great story tellers: "and the world in its wonder and violence entered her and she did not flinch."


60 Textos
60 Textos
by Sarah Riggs
Edition: Paperback
Price: $14.00
18 used & new from $6.70

4.0 out of 5 stars discoveries, July 26, 2011
This review is from: 60 Textos (Paperback)
A little gem of a book and a perfect answer to those who fear new mediums mean a falling off in art and articulations. Riggs' short lyrics keep the flashing surprise of their original incarnation, messages sent between intimates, increasing tightening as the field of reference widens. A wonder.


Testify
Testify
by Joseph Lease
Edition: Paperback
Price: $15.41
44 used & new from $3.74

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rough Magic, April 3, 2011
This review is from: Testify (Paperback)
Incantations meant to help us to know ourselves (at our largest and most complex) the poems collected in Joseph Lease's brilliant new book are generous, transformative, and immensely necessary. Whitman and Emerson are the models here: admired, cited, critiqued and surpassed in a collection that manages to be at once vividly accountable and...hopeful--as if some real and really lovely sense of what it mean to be "American" might yet survive our greed and thoughtlessness. In song-like poems that seem to break across, at times, a sobbing breath, Lease proves the value of emotion by doing the work of feeling, writing words that let expression work in us. Cathartic, seductive, and fierce, Testify stays true to the disaster, as fragments flow past in a dense montage of description and confession strong enough to keep moving us toward an embodied wisdom, and a better place.


The Desires of Letters
The Desires of Letters
by Laynie Browne
Edition: Paperback
Price: $16.95
19 used & new from $7.00

5.0 out of 5 stars in and further in, May 23, 2010
This review is from: The Desires of Letters (Paperback)
In this wonderful response to the Bernadette Mayer classic, The Desire of Mothers to Please Others in Letters, Laynie Browne manages a delicate and compelling transformation. What begins as a deliciously gossipy and slightly wistful account of the way motherhood takes one writer out of her community, ends as a celebration of a new, a deeper and more embodied, understanding of community. The author is at the top of her powers and the book is giddy (a giddiness it communicates) w/ sly wit: "I know nothing about mortality. Ask me later." Here the writing itself is a great pleasure and the interweaving of micro and macrocosm is lively and original, while (re)marking a continuation of both Mayer's work and that of Rosmarie Waldrop. Finally the book is about (and and invitation to enter) a kind of rich and rewarding time whose beauty, never celebrated enough in our culture, emerges as the result of a process of attention. "I heard what you said and am trying / To gather adequate time in which to charm time / So that it will always be my own"--gorgeous and admirable!


Zong! (Wesleyan Poetry Series)
Zong! (Wesleyan Poetry Series)
by Marlene Nourbese Philip
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $19.08
55 used & new from $10.93

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant & necessary, March 12, 2010
"But this is a story that can only be told by not telling...." With this enormously important book M. NourbSe Philip charts a fearless, moving, and gorgeous trajectory across the unspeakable. The book length poem honors a true event (the 18th century murder of over 150 slaves, thrown overboard for the insurance) while resisting and refreshing the language of the original report of the event (a legal document). Engaging a tragedy, in which the meaningful fact of humanity was not recognized, the poet refuses to supply sense, asking her reader to work with her to understand the structure of understanding itself. Fragments and associative leaps make the reading of this text a powerful experience of otherness, while her extraordinary music resonates in the heart, so that the poem finally comes from both within and without. One of the absolutely essential books.


Page: 1