Profile for Amy Alessio > Reviews

Browse

Amy Alessio's Profile

Customer Reviews: 3
Top Reviewer Ranking: 4,470,121
Helpful Votes: 3




Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Amy Alessio RSS Feed

Show:  
Page: 1
pixel
Dog Collar Crime (Humorous Romantic Mystery) (A Lucie Rizzo Adventure Book 1)
Dog Collar Crime (Humorous Romantic Mystery) (A Lucie Rizzo Adventure Book 1)
Price: $2.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart, Funny Caper, August 19, 2013
Lucie thinks being made redundant at her banking job and having to move back to her parents' Franklin, IL home is the worst of her problems, but when someone hurts her and dognaps a few pets she is being paid to walk, she realizes both her new income stream an her person are in jeopardy. Recently broken up again from her love, Frankie, who like her is also the child of a famous mobster, does not help her situation. She is also trying to establish a pet accessory business, and at least that is going well with successful trunk shows and orders from boutiques. But her friend identifies a real diamond on one of the designs, and Lucie realizes the dognapping is related. The stone came from craft supplies in her attic, and Frankie asks his father to help find out what is going on. Lucie wants to be rid of connections to the mob, especially now that her own father is in prison, but knows she is in over her head with the diamonds. Her brother and Frankie try to protect her and the scenes where they and the dogs fight back against the dognappers are among the funniest in the book.

Lucie's feelings for Frankie are complicated, but she knows she needs him on many levels. Frankie is a great hero for a romance, complicated yet assertive - and hot - and the story of how they both mature while sorting out the many crimes is enormously appealing. Lucie is smart even amid her confusion and shock over the culprits in this case and readers will be rooting for her and Frankie. Their solution to the case is clever and funny.

I received an ARC of this for an honest review and it didn't disappoint. I am a librarian and a professional reviewer for several publications and get to enjoy many mysteries a month for both teens and adults. Adrienne is one of my favorite romantic suspense authors and it is nice to see she does so well with humorous mysteries as well. Fans of Laura Levine and G.A. MacKevett will enjoy this cast and snappy dialogue along with the layered, well crafted plot.


Opposing Forces (Private Protectors)
Opposing Forces (Private Protectors)
Price: $2.51

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action, Real Romance, Suspense!, June 10, 2013
I'm a longtime fan of Giordano and the Private Protector series, but if you are new to these books, you will not have trouble keeping up (though you may want to get the other titles too just for fun reading). Jillian stumbles across something suspicious at her Chicago pharmaceuticals company, and then her house is broken into - while she is there! She asks a cute acquaintance from her yoga class, Jackson Lynx, to help her put in a security system, as she knows he works for Taylor Security. But things get only more strange at her company, from being denied access to her shipping files to having her office moved. As she asks more questions about a mysterious evening shipment, it becomes clear someone wants her to stop asking questions. Lynx is also warned that he should stop looking into this company, but that only makes him and his friends at the company want to find out what is going on. Lynx is a recovering painkiller addict, and Jillian is the child of an alcoholic, giving their growing relationship a realistic conflict amidst their fun dialogue and chemistry.

There are many surprises and twists in this romantic suspense to keep readers turning pages all the way to the end. I read it in one sitting as I wanted to know what would happen next about the company and between Lynx and Jillian. Giordano blends humor in with snapshots of returning character Vic's home life with baby twins. Pacing is especially well done here. Fans of Catherine Coulter's Sherlock/Savich series and Julie Garwood's FBI series will enjoy this series as well.


Zoned for Murder (Sound Shore Times Mystery Book 1)
Zoned for Murder (Sound Shore Times Mystery Book 1)
Price: $4.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit Series From Evelyn David!, April 20, 2012
I have long been a fan of these two authors, and wasn't sure how I would feel about a new series, but I loved this. Maggie is so realistic as a widowed mom who is trying to find her path in a career as a reporter. She does land in trouble when investigating some building project in her home town, but she makes smart choices and readers will identify with her. A potential love interest makes this fun even if he seems a little suspect, and other colorful minor characters such as Maggie's widowed email pal add depth to this well crafted story. Humor always overlays the writing of Evelyn David and laughed out loud more than once while reading quickly to find out what happens. I can't wait for the next one to come out!


Page: 1