Profile for Jacquelynn Morris > Reviews

Browse

Jacquelynn Morris' Profile

Customer Reviews: 13
Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,290,958
Helpful Votes: 91




Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Jacquelynn Morris RSS Feed (East Coast, USA)

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2
pixel
Lysol No-Touch Kitchen System Dish Soap, Sparkling Tangerine, 2 Refills, 8.5 Ounce
Lysol No-Touch Kitchen System Dish Soap, Sparkling Tangerine, 2 Refills, 8.5 Ounce
Offered by The $aving$ Depot
Price: $14.95
6 used & new from $9.99

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Refill doesn't fit, May 27, 2013
Apparently there are two sizes of No Touch dispensers and refills, but nothing to let the unwary shopper know. Two sizes are OK, but why not mark them clearly instead of frustrating trusting customers. What a rip-off!


Just Like Heaven (String Quartet Tribute to The Cure)
Just Like Heaven (String Quartet Tribute to The Cure)
Price: $0.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful wedding music, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter chose this for her wedding recently, and it was just perfect. She used it for the bridesmaids processional--simply lovely.


Just the Cheese Rounds, Nacho, 2-Ounce Bags (Pack of 12)
Just the Cheese Rounds, Nacho, 2-Ounce Bags (Pack of 12)
Price: $40.33

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Serving size disconnect, April 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just received these today and was stunned to see that one 2 ounce bag is considered to be FOUR servings. Really? Really?? It's the size of a small bag of chips, which one might not realize they were expected to share with three of their closest friends. Serving size disconnect affects so much of the products we buy anyway, but this takes it to a new and quite annoying level.

Oh, and the rounds themselves? They have a nice crunch, welcomed when one has been on a low-carb diet of meat and cheese and some veggies, but the flavor is really salty. REALLY salty. And dry. You probably won't be able to eat all four servings anyway, so have a party and put out a couple of the 2 ounce bags of these for the crowd. After a few parties you'll be able to get rid of the twelve bags you just bought.


No Title Available

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive and disappointing, April 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The picture on Amazon shows two soaps; I only received one (that's one pricey soap!). And it was wrapped in a piece of bubble wrap--no packaging, no label, no list of ingredients for someone who might be allergic to something that might be in the soap. The description mentions it would be good as a wedding shower favor, which is what I bought it for. I can't give one soap in bubble wrap as a favor! I'm very disappointed at the deceptive description and lousy packaging. If I can return this at no additional cost to myself, it's going back.
Comment Comment | Permalink


Beautiful Gold Overlay Conch Shell Pendant
Beautiful Gold Overlay Conch Shell Pendant

6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not a conch shell, September 1, 2011
This replica of a shell, while lovely, is not a conch. It appears to be more like a murex shell. Perhaps the description can be corrected to reflect this.


BOXIE ii Candy Pink Camera Case for Canon PowerShot, Sony CyberShot, Nikon Coolpix, Pentax Optio, Casio Exilim, Olympus Stylus and Panasonic Lumix
BOXIE ii Candy Pink Camera Case for Canon PowerShot, Sony CyberShot, Nikon Coolpix, Pentax Optio, Casio Exilim, Olympus Stylus and Panasonic Lumix

3.0 out of 5 stars Cheapo carabiner, July 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While the case itself is attractive and looks sturdy, the same cannot be said for the flimsy carabiner included with the case. It's meant to attach to a loop at one end of the case, and the neck strap attaches to the carabiner. However, within 5 minutes of unpacking the case from the box the carabiner was broken beyond repair; all I did was open it and attempt to insert it into the loop. The moveable clip simply snapped, and the carabiner is useless. Thankfully, carabiners are cheap and easy to come by, so I'll just buy another one somewhere. I think the case itself will be fine.


The Sherlockian
The Sherlockian
by Graham Moore
Edition: Hardcover
173 used & new from $0.01

17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for fans of Conan Doyle, December 20, 2010
This review is from: The Sherlockian (Hardcover)
While Mr. Moore has the markings of a future wordsmith, he has a way to go to be able to walk the walk of true Sherlockians. The first half of the book, although sprinkled with inaccuracies, was mostly enjoyable (case in point: BSI members do not have their dinner at the Algonquin Hotel, nor do they "quack," and Mr. Moore left out one of the long-standing and honored traditions of the society--that of receiving an investiture). I was intrigued with how he would knit together the two seemingly independent plots. Sadly, in order to make it work, he had to portray Sir Arthur Conan Doyle as a coarse, cruel, insensitive man who was anything but a gentleman. This goes against everything written about Conan Doyle and what every Sherlockian treasures about the man. Yes, Doyle tired of Holmes and "killed" him. But...

***SPOILER ALERT!!!***

...as a physician Doyle would not have cold-bloodedly killed anyone, not even a villain. And he most certainly would not have used the language attributed to the character named Doyle in THE SHERLOCKIAN. Yes, it is a work of fiction, but because of the disrespectful manner in which Doyle is handled I cannot recommend it to any Sherlockian of my acquaintance.

Having said that, though, I do believe that Mr. Moore has a great deal of talent and I look forward to his next book.
Comment Comments (8) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Apr 25, 2011 9:20 AM PDT


Sherlock: Season 1
Sherlock: Season 1
DVD ~ Benedict Cumberbatch
Price: $23.56
29 used & new from $12.83

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight for Sherlockians and those new to Holmes and Watson, September 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Season 1 (DVD)
Like another U.S. reviewer for "Sherlock" I, too, was able to view this in advance of it being released here. Nearly everything I would say about "Sherlock" has been said by other reviewers, but I'd like to add that, as a longtime Sherlockian/Watsonian who has read, discussed, re-read, and discussed some more about all of the Holmes stories, there are little winks and nudges to Holmes fans like myself in "Sherlock." In "A Study in Pink" a young man goes back for an umbrella. The news headline tells of a "James Phillimore" as having been found dead. In the Sherlock Holmes stories there is a character of the same name who is briefly mentioned as having come back to his house for his umbrella and was never seen again. The attention to detail such as that is an example that the creators have a passion for Holmes and Watson, as well as the original stories, and respect for the rest of us who do as well.

I belong to several Sherlock Holmes groups and I must say, across the board, no one who has seen this show has any criticisms. This is our Holmes. This is our Watson.


Diamond Ruby: A Novel
Diamond Ruby: A Novel
by Joseph E. Wallace
Edition: Paperback
Price: $14.40
107 used & new from $0.01

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable "Girl of Summer", August 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Diamond Ruby: A Novel (Paperback)
You've no doubt heard the phrase, "the boys of summer," referring to, of course, baseball. I had my very own "girl of summer" when I recently read Joseph Wallace's DIAMOND RUBY. Ruby Thomas is one of those rare unforgettable characters that one might find only a handful of times during a lifetime of reading.

I'm not a sports person, although baseball might be my sport of choice if pressed to choose. There should be enough baseball in DIAMOND RUBY to satisfy a baseball fan (after all, Joseph Wallace has also written nonfiction books on baseball, including GRAND OLD GAME: 365 DAYS OF BASEBALL), but there is so much more to DIAMOND RUBY than baseball. What Mr. Wallace shows us in this, his first novel, is loyalty, sacrifice, determination, the strive for personal best, strength of character, and above all, love of family.

Another Amazon reviewer lamented the presence of "villains" in this book. I wonder what really good novel exists which doesn't have villains of some sort. Character--in fiction or in real life--can't grow and develop without challenges and obstacles to overcome. A life without "villains" would not be a life worth living; a story without them would not be one worth reading. There are villains in DIAMOND RUBY, to be sure, and not all of them are just "bad guys." The villains of disease, despair, and poverty take their toll on Ruby Thomas as do the unscrupulous people she encounters. But it's what she does about them that makes this novel worth reading, perhaps even more than once. As one reviewer compared this to A TREE GROWS IN BROOKLYN, this book may become another to which future novels are compared.

Ruby Thomas will become your "girl of summer," no matter what season you pick up the book. Like the fans at a baseball game, you will cheer her on, page after page, and I dare you to finish the book without a tear in your eye and a smile on your face.


Scout, Atticus, and Boo: A Celebration of Fifty Years of To Kill a Mockingbird
Scout, Atticus, and Boo: A Celebration of Fifty Years of To Kill a Mockingbird
by Mary McDonagh Murphy
Edition: Hardcover
99 used & new from $0.01

17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Idea, Poorly Executed, August 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I absolutely love To Kill a Mockingbird. For good reason it has become a classic and celebrates its 50th year. This book, however, Scout, Atticus & Boo, is a great disappointment.

Scout, Atticus & Boo evidently evolved from a series of interviews conducted by Mary McDonagh Murphy for a documentary. Her choice of interviewees is, across the board, first-rate; from actress Mary Badham ("Scout") to Harper Lee's sister, Alice Finch Lee, to former ambassador and congressman Andrew Young. Not surprisingly, many of the interviewees said a lot of the same things about To Kill a Mockingbird. Many of them shared the same opinions of the characters, the plot, and the time and place in which the book is set. There are some poignant comments and some fascinating insights, but overall one feels as if one is reading the same thing over and over, making this a rather unsatisfying read. While listening and watching some of these people speaking in a documentary would be interesting, reading their somewhat disjointed commentary is awkward and clunky. This could have been avoided with some sharp and concise editing.

Editing seems to have been tossed aside for this book in other areas as well. While spell-check can often be our friend in emails, it does not substitute for the trained eye of an editor in published material. Usage of "then" instead of the appropriate "than" in a quote from Mary Badham is just inexcusable: "Scout was a lot smarter then I was. She's a lot smarter then a lot of adults I know."

I looked forward to reading Scout, Atticus & Boo after my latest rereading of To Kill a Mockingbird. I'm sorry to say that this book, which held so much promise and which could have been a great read, is instead a great waste of time and money.
Comment Comment (1) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Aug 8, 2010 7:24 PM PDT


Page: 1 | 2