Profile for A.Trendl HungarianBookstore.com > Reviews

Browse

A.Trendl Hungari...'s Profile

Customer Reviews: 1130
Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,077
Helpful Votes: 13221


Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
A.Trendl HungarianBookstore.com "What should I review next?" RSS Feed (Wheaton, IL USA)
(VINE VOICE)   

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11-20
pixel
Easy Cheese, Cheddar Snack, Spray Can, 8oz ( 12 count )
Easy Cheese, Cheddar Snack, Spray Can, 8oz ( 12 count )
Price: $49.29

5.0 out of 5 stars It Is What It Is (And That's Tasty), June 30, 2015
This is Easy Cheese in a spray can. Basically, it is cheez whiz in a can. There's no one on any planet who will tell you this is a health food, or that it is in any way good for you. It is what it is.

You've got a few options regarding consumption. There's crackers and veggies, or even a sort of ham and cheese sandwich (better than it sounds). There's directly spraying into your mouth (be careful kids). And there's spraying onto a large spoon and having at it.

It is a sharp cheddar flavor. It's a little (OK, a lot) greasy, so keep that in mind. You might find that factors into the "too much of a good thing" reality an hour later.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


Barq's Root Beer, 2-Liter Bottle (Pack of 6)
Barq's Root Beer, 2-Liter Bottle (Pack of 6)
Offered by detroit whut (5 STAR SELLER- FASTEST SHIPPING)
Price: $15.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Caffeinated Vanilla-esque Root Beer, June 29, 2015
Barq's remains one of the few (only?) national root beers with caffeine. For me, that's a plus. It is on the sweeter side, with a vanilla emphasis. It goes back to the 1890s, and it is one of the true original root beer drinks.

As hot day drinks go, this can hit the spot. Goes well with hot dogs.

Because of the vanilla, it goes well with classic root beer floats. Called a "black cow" here in Chicago, it is made with vanilla ice cream and root beer, traditionally served in a tall frosted glass.

Barq's is hardly the only worthy root beer available, but it has a frequent place in my fridge. Watch the price for deals.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


Selected Poems of Gerard Manley Hopkins (Dover Thrift Editions)
Selected Poems of Gerard Manley Hopkins (Dover Thrift Editions)
by Gerard Manley Hopkins
Edition: Paperback
Price: $3.50
73 used & new from $1.11

5.0 out of 5 stars Deep in Genuine, Devoted Faith and Rich Writing, June 29, 2015
Hopkins is one of those poets hidden from so many because of his subject matter, yet is considered one of the most influential Victorian poets for his use of word combinations, meter and image.

Added to the delicious and poignant poetry is the contemplative nature of it. You'll read about his humility and submission to God, his genuine faith, his desire that his poetry exalt God and not Hopkins himself.

Most his work was published posthumously, as late as 1920 or so, and immediately influenced the likes of T.S. Elliot (AKA, the guy who wrote the poem "Cats" is based on and "Wasteland") and his contemporaries.

While Walt Whitman and Oscar Wilde were exalting in themselves, and just after Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau were helping us see creation, Hopkins demonstrated prowess in pointing readers to see the Creator in the creation.

Atheists won't agree with him, of course, but he says it so well, they will at least go, "Hmm... if I believed, I could see that... yeah, wow, well put." The Catholics will cheer him on, "Atta boy... yep, that guy's a Jesuit!" Not undone are the Protestants who will be so impressed in agreement they'll be happy he was a Christian.

Check out this snippet from "Pied Beauty":

Glory be to God for dappled things--
For skies of couple-colour as a brinded cow;
For rose-moles all in stipple upon trout that swim;
Fresh-firecoal chestnut-falls; finches wings;
Landscape plotted and pieced--fold, fallow, and plough;
And 'all tra'des, their gear and tackle and trim."

Those accents are in the original.

Delicious to say aloud? You should hear the second verse. His others are as tasty.

I fully recommend this book.

Anthony Trendl
americanspeechwriter.com


M&M'S Dark Chocolate Mint Candies, 8 Ounce (Pack of 6)
M&M'S Dark Chocolate Mint Candies, 8 Ounce (Pack of 6)
10 used & new from $27.46

5.0 out of 5 stars Like Girl Scout Thin Mints Cookies, June 29, 2015
I think my title says it all. They taste like Girl Scout Thin Mints cookies. Normally, I don't like dark chocolate, but I couldn't taste that. Impressive crunchy coating.

These are bigger than normal M&Ms, but are something like Peanut M&Ms.

Excellent as party snacks though they are sweet. Matches nicely with coffee.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


Frog and Toad Storybook Treasury (I Can Read Book 2)
Frog and Toad Storybook Treasury (I Can Read Book 2)
by Arnold Lobel
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $10.79
76 used & new from $4.71

5.0 out of 5 stars Three Classics in One Set, June 29, 2015
I am a huge fan of Frog and Toad. Although Arnold Lobel's books are written for younger children (my three year-old loves them), they are sophisticated in their charm. And it must be said the illustrations are magnificent. Fans of Winnie the Pooh and E. H. Shepard will appreciate what Lobel's done.

The stories are simple and honest, and usually involving solving a single crisis. How to fly a kite -- how to stop eating cookies -- finding a lost button. All are warmly toned.

The cool thing is you'll get three books and your child can pick a favorite.

I fully recommend Frog and Toad Storybook Treasury (I Can Read Book 2) by Arnold Lobel.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


American Monsters: A History of Monster Lore, Legends, and Sightings in America
American Monsters: A History of Monster Lore, Legends, and Sightings in America
by Linda S. Godfrey
Edition: Paperback
Price: $13.85
76 used & new from $8.64

5.0 out of 5 stars More than Yetis, June 29, 2015
Imagine the stories old men tell on porches about the thing they saw back in 1957. Get beyond the yeti and his kin, and variations on the Loch Ness Monster, and you have this book. "American Monsters: A History of Monster Lore, Legends, and Sightings in America" by Linda Godfrey is packed with intrigue.

We're talking gator men, freaky moths, dragons, and mermaids. And some very creepy dogs. There's hybrids of animals that should never have gotten friendly, like the Connecticut Frogfolk.

These are all written up in an easy to digest form. How easy they are to believe depends on you, the reader. Author Linda Godfrey offers up testimony from eyewitness, claims of footprints, and even a few photos that seem convincing.

I fully recommend "American Monsters: A History of Monster Lore, Legends, and Sightings in America" by Linda Godfrey. More fun than a barrel of parrot-monkey hybrids.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


Rhodium Gun Color Plated Sterling Silver 4cttw Black and White Cubic Zirconia Pendant Necklace, 18"
Rhodium Gun Color Plated Sterling Silver 4cttw Black and White Cubic Zirconia Pendant Necklace, 18"

4.0 out of 5 stars Delicate and Sophisticated, June 26, 2015
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Rhodium Gun Color Plated Sterling Silver 4cttw Black and White Cubic Zirconia Pendant Necklace, 18" will go well with your little black dress. I can see Audrey Hepburn, ala Breakfast at Tiffany's, wearing it in glory. A white dress will work too. The detail of the pendant's design will limit the range of dress. You'll want to avoid heavy florals lest everything become too busy.

The chain at 18" is a smidgen too short. The chain design and width, though appropriately matches the pendant.

The jewels surrounding it reflect light and are translucent. This helps light and color sparkle.

This is the pendant you will wear at fundraisers and dinners out.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


Sunshine, Cheez-It Baked Snack Crackers, Scrabble Junior, 12.4oz Box (Pack of 4) 4)
Sunshine, Cheez-It Baked Snack Crackers, Scrabble Junior, 12.4oz Box (Pack of 4) 4)
Offered by TSS ROCOCO
Price: $26.88
4 used & new from $22.50

5.0 out of 5 stars Cheez-Its... With Letters, June 25, 2015
Here's what's going on. These are Cheez-Its? Do you like Cheez-Its? Yeah? Good. Now, the only difference is these Cheez-Its have big letters on them.

Hence my title to this little review, "Cheez-Its With Letters."

Apparently Scrabble, as in the board game, has some kind of arrangement getting their logo on the box. These nothing Scrabble-esque about these delicious Cheez-Its, though, other than the game has tiles with letters on them.

My little boy loves these. He searched through the entire box looking for the letters to spell his name. That makes this worth it.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


San Pellegrino Sparkling Beverage, Limonata, 6.5 Ounce (Pack of 6)
San Pellegrino Sparkling Beverage, Limonata, 6.5 Ounce (Pack of 6)
Offered by trade concepts
Price: $7.99
4 used & new from $7.99

3.0 out of 5 stars Tastes Like Furniture Polish, June 24, 2015
I wanted to like this more. The ingredients seem simple and good. Unfortunately, I found it to taste the way I imagine my favorite furniture polish to taste.

For me, it tastes more like lemonade when warm. You'll need to give it a careful tilt to ensure the natural ingredients are mixed properly, but not too much. This is a lightly carbonated drink.

Otherwise, it bright, not syrupy, a good thing.

Please note: I am not implying this not healthy to drink. I am only acknowledging that however the flavor is made reminded me of the way a major brand polish smells. It is a nice smell so you might enjoy this.

Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


The Quotable Book Lover
The Quotable Book Lover
by Ben Jacobs
Edition: Paperback
Price: $12.95
62 used & new from $0.01

5.0 out of 5 stars Curious Volume of Forgotten Lore, June 23, 2015
If you are looking up a book like, "The Quotable Book Lover," you are the curious sort. You chase randomness in Wikipedia. You follow links that are filled with interesting, but not necessarily useful facts. Now you want to read quotes by famous people about books. Many of these are forgotten in the great pile of great books these men and women have written, but each is fantastically delicious.

"I took a speed reading course and read 'War and Peace' in twenty minutes. It's about Russia." -Woody Allen

"Nothing stinks like a pile of unpublished writing." -Sylvia Plath

"There are books of which the backs and the covers are by far the best parts." -Charles Dickens

You get the idea.

These are well organized, section-by-section, cleanly designed. Leave a copy of "The Quotable Book Lover" in the bathroom, and leave each morning feeling smarter.

--Anthony Trendl
anthonytrendl.com


Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11-20