Profile for Jack > Reviews

Browse

Jack's Profile

Customer Reviews: 131
Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,482
Helpful Votes: 2765




Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Jack RSS Feed

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11-14
pixel
Doctored: The Disillusionment of an American Physician
Doctored: The Disillusionment of an American Physician
Offered by Macmillan
Price: $10.99

32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Physician Deals With The Complex And Rapidly Changing Practice of Medicine, August 19, 2014
Jauhar is the author of Intern: A Doctor's Initiation, a classic memoir about residency in a big-city hospital. In his latest memoir, Doctored, Jauhar is now an attending cardiologist. He quickly learns that the actual practice of medicine in today's society is nothing like he (or we) imagined that it was, should be, and could be. The issues of practicing medicine in today's rapidly evolving climate are neither simple nor have obvious answers.

Physician income issues are prominent in this book. Doctors are paid less than they were paid ten years ago, causing many to even moonlight to make ends meet. The incredible advances in medical technology, which save countless more lives today than 50 years ago, also are a part of the rapid increase in health care expenditure. The reliance that today's physicians have on testing has caused many of them to lose the art of being a physician, the laying of hands to diagnose.

Throughout this book Jauhar wrestles with the various complicated issues that today's doctors face in the practice of medicine like those above. With the massive overhauling of the health care system today, his book comes at a very appropriate time. Medicine is changing, whether physicians like it or not. As a practicing physician, I highly recommend this book for medical students and physicians, in addition to anyone interested in today's medicine and medical memoirs.

Two other recent medical memoirs to check out are Dr. Danielle Ofri's fantastic Singular Intimacies: Becoming a Doctor at Bellevue and Dr. Sampson Davis' affecting Living and Dying in Brick City: Stories from the Front Lines of an Inner-City E.R.. They will also open your eyes to the psyche of today's doctors.
Comment Comments (3) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Aug 21, 2014 8:19 AM PDT


The 8th Assassin
The 8th Assassin
Price: $3.99

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tour de force novel for fans of historical fiction, July 23, 2014
This review is from: The 8th Assassin (Kindle Edition)
First time author Peter Levin has written an enjoyable, thoroughly engrossing novel that spans continents, generations, and major worldwide historical events. Beginning with the murder of Franz Ferdinand and his wife Sophie, Levin exposes us to a story of intrigue, lost love, and mystery. True events are melded with fictional ones to create a story that I found informative, fun, and interesting. It was obviously a 'labor of love' by the author, and surprising that a book of its caliber wasn't published by a major publishing house. But I suppose the readers are the real winners here, as the Kindle book is a real bargain. Fans of Tom Clancy, Eric Larson, and Laura Hillenbrand will enjoy this one. I look forward to Levin's next book!


Breaking Bad: Season 1
Breaking Bad: Season 1
DVD ~ Bryan Cranston
Price: $7.99
23 used & new from $5.77

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start, May 20, 2014
This review is from: Breaking Bad: Season 1 (DVD)
I began watching "Breaking Bad" recently, after hearing all the praise lavished on it. After watching the first season (short, only a handful of episodes), I'm not quite hooked but interested. I'm interested to see how this one plays out. I hear it gets better with each season, so I'm withholding complete judgment for at least another season. Overall, worth checking out.


Microsoft Wireless Mobile Mouse 3500 - Black
Microsoft Wireless Mobile Mouse 3500 - Black
Price: Click here to see our price
104 used & new from $11.99

4.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
No problem with this. Put in batteries and go. I will be using this for a long time! Or at least until I give up my laptop for a tablet.


Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection
Healing Back Pain: The Mind-Body Connection
by John E. Sarno
Edition: Paperback
Price: $12.44
489 used & new from $0.01

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life and many of my patients, May 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Is back pain all in your head? Dr. Sarno thinks it is. I've had back pain for years, went to chiropractor and even treated myself (I'm a physician). Nothing has worked consistently. Dr. Sarno wrote in this interesting book that back pain is often a physical manifestation of emotional issues, like stress. Once you realize this, then you can start visualizing and telling your body to stop the process. It's worked for many people. I've been using his recommendations for many months and it seems to be working for me, too. Fingers crossed.


Good Talk, Dad: The Birds and the Bees...and Other Conversations We Forgot to Have
Good Talk, Dad: The Birds and the Bees...and Other Conversations We Forgot to Have
by Bill Geist
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $18.95
93 used & new from $0.25

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous, poignant, and affecting - A great read for fathers and sons, May 20, 2014
"Good Talk, Dad" is a very well written book (composed in a inquire-and-respond style, like letters or emails back-and-forth) that covers many topics between father and son Bill and Willie Geist, both TV hosts and best-selling authors. These topics range from summer camp, sex, sports, food, religion, and even (one of my favorite subjects) professional wrestling. I found myself laughing out loud at many of the funny details of their family stories. As both a father and son these stories really struck a chord in me. It made me think of my own father, who lives quite far from me now.

But, like life, it's not all laughs and fun. The book does get serious and quite poignant when Bill (the father) reveals he has Parkinson's. His tales about Vietnam were quite sobering as well, but effectively balanced out the lighter stories from Willie. Even if you haven't seen either of the Geists on TV, this is a great book to buy for your Dad for Father's Day. One small warning: there are a few mild off-color jokes, so be aware.

This book follows in the footsteps of one of my other favorite father-son books, Sh*t My Dad Says. If you haven't read this, it's a riot. A short, quick read, it will have you laughing within minutes.


Resident On Call: A Doctor's Reflections On His First Years At Mass General
Resident On Call: A Doctor's Reflections On His First Years At Mass General
by Scott A. Rivkees
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $15.35
60 used & new from $7.70

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A House of God For Today, April 2, 2014
In this book, Dr. Scott Rivkees' describes his many experiences as a resident at Mass General Hospital, possibly the most famous (and intense) hospitals in the country. Throughout his narrative, he introduces us to many of the patients who touched him and taught him how to be an empathetic, caring physician. It's basically The House of God for today and a great read for anyone considering becoming a doctor. Whereas many medical memoirs are overly serious and refuse to see the light side of medicine, Rivkees deftly balances humor and seriousness, just like medicine in real life. I really enjoyed this book and found it very hard to put down.


A Short Guide to a Long Life
A Short Guide to a Long Life
Offered by Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
Price: $9.78

178 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick, easy-to-read tips on living a longer and healthier life, January 7, 2014
Dr. David Agus, a professor of medicine and engineering at USC, is also the author of the best-selling but controversial book The End of Illness. His latest, "A Short Guide To A Long Life," is best-described as an easy-to-read, cliff-notes version of his recommendations for improving your health. A pioneer in cancer research, his tips have a heavy bent towards preventing cancer, but also cover general wellness. If you've read his first book but found it a bit dense, then you will gobble this book up.

As a physician, I agree with most of his recommendations. While some of his tips may be controversial, for the most part Agus stays in line with current medical thought. Most of his recommendations aren't ground-breaking but make sense. Drink a glass of wine with dinner. Eat cold water fish at least 3 times a week. Practice good hygiene. Get a dog. Avoid sunburns. Smile. That being said, some of his recommendations regarding medications (like fat-reducing statins) should be discussed with your doctor first.

Like Dr. Oz on TV (and his books), Agus does a fantastic job presenting medical advice in a fashion that is easy for any reader to understand and appreciate. That is where this book really shines. I plan to have copies in my waiting room for my patients to digest since it's such a quick, easy read.

Another quick and extremely enjoyable read by a physician is Dr. Anthony Youn's In Stitches. This memoir shows what it's like to go through medical school and become a doctor, in eye-opening detail. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in medicine and health.
Comment Comments (11) | Permalink | Most recent comment: Feb 24, 2014 8:08 AM PST


Party Tyme Karaoke: Super Hits 19
Party Tyme Karaoke: Super Hits 19
Price: $13.48
30 used & new from $4.67

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great time for kids, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My kids loved it. The songs are current, and will purchase from this company again. Lyrics match songs well and kids could follow them closely.


The Walking Dead: Season 2
The Walking Dead: Season 2
DVD ~ Andrew Lincoln
Price: $9.99
15 used & new from $9.99

5.0 out of 5 stars Best show on TV, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season 2 (DVD)
Before watching this one, pick up the first season. As long as you aren't grossed out by (fake) gore, the Walking Dead series are great. Acting is superb, and you never know what happens next. Props to the producers for not being afraid of killing off main characters.


Page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11-14