Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM
Profile for Mr. Utah > Reviews

Browse

Mr. Utah's Profile

Customer Reviews: 27
Top Reviewer Ranking: 2,788,184
Helpful Votes: 49


Community Features
Review Discussion Boards
Top Reviewers

Guidelines: Learn more about the ins and outs of Your Profile.

Reviews Written by
Mr. Utah RSS Feed (Potomac, MD USA)

Show:  
Page: 1 | 2 | 3
pixel
Bull Mountain
Bull Mountain
Offered by Penguin Group (USA) LLC
Price: $11.99

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and distinctive, January 12, 2016
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bull Mountain (Kindle Edition)
A fast paced novel unlike anything I've read. Generations of a mountain dwelling crime family test the limits of fidelity to one's blood and unleash the destructive power of revenge. Read it in a few sittings. You will too.


The Drop
The Drop
DVD

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hardy Film, May 27, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Drop (Amazon Video)
Terrifica crime drama based on the novel by Dennis Lehane. Tom Hardy is fantastic in a story with some surprises. This is not an action film.


You Are the Message
You Are the Message
Offered by Random House LLC
Price: $12.99

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still helpful, September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ailes wrote wrote this self-help book about 25 years ago.. before the internet explosion and social networking but the principles he conveys are still relevant. The book would benefit from some updating given the tremendous success Ailes has enjoyed over the past few decades. Still, the book is an easy read and his advice is timeless.


A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 5)
A Dance with Dragons (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 5)
Offered by Random House LLC
Price: $9.99

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Dance That Will Not End, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having read the first four books - and finding the fourth lacking - I nevertheless decided to read A Dance With Dragons. It's pretty clear that Martin has become bored and hasn't figured out how to bring all of the story lines to a fitting conclusion. So, he content to keep writing about this knight or that knight. Interesting characters are less so now and new, boring ones are created. I encourage everyone to read the first three books in the series, yes! But know that if you keep reading beyond three, you'll be disappointed.


All Sales 6201 Hummer Adapter Stud
All Sales 6201 Hummer Adapter Stud
Price: $7.17
35 used & new from $1.33

5.0 out of 5 stars For 2013 Jeep Wrangler Stubby, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bought a Stubby antenna for my new 2013 Jeep Wrangler. It came with 4 adapters - none of which fit. Found this one on Amazon and it did the trick.


Innocent (Kindle County Book 8)
Innocent (Kindle County Book 8)
Offered by Hachette Book Group
Price: $9.99

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rusty is Not So Innocent, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Innocent is Scott Turow's well-written sequel to his superb, breakthrough novel Presumed Innocent. Turow finds protagonist Rusty Savage in the dusk of his professional career as a respected appellate judge. His personal life to a mentally unstable wife has resulted in a dull existence and an estranged relationship with his son. One morning, Rusty finds his wife dead in their bedroom and, not surprisingly, he is suspected by some of having murdered her. Rusty - as he did in Presumed - has made some very poor personal life decisions along the way which only complicate his efforts to prove his innocence. He's had an affair and more. So, did he kill his wife? Did his lover or someone else? I will not spoil the ending, which is so-so. Suffice it to say, Turow writes very well but the tale is less than credible at times and - not surprisingly- cannot match the quality of its predecessor. Still, if you are looking for a good page turner, this one delivers.


The Racketeer
The Racketeer
by John Grisham
Edition: Hardcover
Price: $19.63
631 used & new from $0.01

3.0 out of 5 stars Fast Food Fiction, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Racketeer (Hardcover)
The Racketeer is a slickly packaged fast food fiction meal that was consumed quickly but, at the end, left me regretting having spent the time and money. Yes, the plot has its main course of usual twists and turns but the reader sees many of them coming and others are just implausible. Toss in Grisham's lefty tutorials on the problems with our criminal justice and legal systems, a protagonist who is hard to root for, and a weak ending and you wind up with with a product that is easily ingested but below par.


A Sight for Sore Eyes
A Sight for Sore Eyes
by Ruth Rendell
Edition: Mass Market Paperback
Price: $7.99
103 used & new from $0.01

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why should the reader care?, July 21, 2012
Rendell is a very talented writer and her ability to put the reader in a character's head and set a scene are top-notch. But the characters in A Sight For Sore Eyes are not appealing. I just did not care about most of the characters or what happens to them. So, as well-written as the book is, the story and its characters fail to deliver. I expect that for fans of Rendell, Sore Eyes is a book that should be read. But for most of those looking for a compelling and entertaining thriller, my advice would be to keep looking.


RBS 6 Nations Rugby
RBS 6 Nations Rugby
Price: $0.99

1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RBS 6 Nations Rugby (App)
Totally lame. Rugby is more than kicking. there should be more of a rugby game if the six nations lends its name to it. Embarassed to admit to paying for it.


Crazy U: One Dad's Crash Course in Getting His Kid Into College
Crazy U: One Dad's Crash Course in Getting His Kid Into College
by Andrew Ferguson
Edition: Hardcover
153 used & new from $0.01

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information and perspective with a smile, August 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are parent of a high school student and you are starting to look at colleges - or if you are in the midst of it already - I would recommend this easy and informative read. I bought the Kindle version and have recently bought a few hard-cover copies as gifts for friends.

Ferguson tells the story of his own experiences with his son as he (with little help from his son) tries to make sense of conflicting college ratings systems, out of control tuitions, legacy preferences, college tours and admissions offices, standardized tests, and for-hire admissions consultants which, taken together, make up today's college admissions industry. The book is well researched but not overly academic.

Crazy U explains the history of standardized tests and their relative positives and negatives and how admissions offices really work. Ferguson researches how the college ratings system came to be, what the various ratings systems really measure (and do not measure), and how some colleges manipulate the ratings system. For example, Ferguson discusses how some college admissions offices have effectively become marketing arms of the institutions in an ever-escalating bid to increase the number of applications they receive. Why? So the the number of students actually accepted can be a lower percentage of the total number of applicants thereby enhancing the perceived selectivity of the college and, in turn, increasing its rating.

Ferguson presents all of this information through the prism of his own one year journey to "help" his son get into college. He writes of his angst and frustration with the process and his son's apparent apathy about it all in a style that is amusing and familiar to any parent of a teenager. (My daughter has called me a "stalker" for simply following up with the individuals we've met on a few of our college tours.) Most importantly, Ferguson's own story and his research are presented in Crazy U in a way the will help parents put all of this craziness in some needed perspective. Crazy U helps to educate and remind parents that we should see the system for what it is and what it is not, that we should give our kids more credit than we sometimes afford them, and that the system is only as crazy as we allow it to affect or drive the decisions we as parents make concerning what is best for our kids.


Page: 1 | 2 | 3